We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Ed & Joan! Great stay!”
Review of Old Granite Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Granite Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Rockland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We stayed at the Old Granite Inn for one night to celebrate our anniversary. We only live 45 minutes away so this was a bit of a stay-cation. When I called to make the reservation I asked for the least expensive room, but when I told Ed we were coming for our anniversary he gave us a complimentary upgrade!

The house is just beyond all of the shops on Main Street which is great! You can easily walk to all the shops and galleries but you're not right in the thick of the town. The view from the house is the ferry terminal which is interesting to watch.

We were greeted warmly by Ed and Zach (the dog) and shown to our room. It had a nice little electric fireplace that offered a cozy mood and extra warmth. Actually, the heating was a bit intense in the middle of the night the radiator kicked into high gear and it was quite warm in the room, but by morning it was just right again.

Breakfast was served to us in our room because my husband had a cold. It was very nice and the service was excellent!

All-in-all a lovely stay. We'd highly recommend this accommodation to anyone looking to stay in Rockland be it one night in winter or a long summer vacation!

Thank you, Ed & Joan!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank widewrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 177 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2010

We had such a great time here. The owners are so nice, and wow, what a breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muffinbutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Simply put, stay at the Old Granite Inn.
Location, Atmosphere, and Food... Top Shelf!

The Old Granite Inn (OGI) is located a few minutes walking distance from what are arguably some of the best shops and restaurants along Rockland's Main Street (US Rte 1) -- and is directly across the street from the ferry terminal; not to mention, the Farnsworth Art Museum and several other galleries are also easily walked to from the OGI.

Traveling from north or south, the OGI is right on Rte 1. Parking in front of the Inn is simple, without hassles, fuss, or long walks to one's car. Note: At the time of our visit, the curbing and sidewalks in front of the Inn were being renovated (making for curious navigating in and out of parking spaces.

At the OGI, one will be impressed by the facade of the old stone manor, quarried from granite that looks to me as impressive today as it must have appeared over a hundred years ago--and by the Innkeepers' forever-charming sentinel, Zach, whom I understand introduces himself to all guests upon their arrival. We were warmly greeted by Zach, and Inn Keepers Joan and Edwin Hantz who made us feel quite at home.

As we visited during the Festival of Lights in late November, we missed the opportunity to enjoy the gardens that flourish throughout the rest of the year along the front of the Inn; however, if the breakfasts Edwin prepared for us over the course of the weekend are any measure, I am confident the gardens of OGI are absolutely spectacular. Attention to detail is not overlooked in any element of the food he prepared for us... everything was delicious!

Joan, who has an eye for color, texture, and aesthetic balance in design, has created a very relaxing atmosphere at the OGI where one can sit and chat, read, play board games, or visit with Zach in a cozy chair by the warmth of the fireplace--experiencing first hand the essence the Old Inn.
A more contemporary style, yet equally relaxing experience can be had in the open media and dining area where one can enjoy a gourmet breakfast, sip a favorite beverage--with a snack from the "cookie jar"; or perhaps, catch up on news, watch a movie, read, or chat with friends.
Between the ambiance of the dining area and Edwin's creations from the kitchen, our breakfasts at OGI easily became the most enjoyable meal of the day!

We relaxed in the Rooms One/Two Suite. Two separate rooms on the first floor to the rear of the Inn. The rooms are joined by a vestibule through which both rooms and the 3/4 bath are accessed. The simple European contemporary style was very refreshing to this reviewer (see photos copied from website). Note: I understand Joan and Edwin will be augmenting the utilities in these spaces with "green" technologies in the near future! YAY! Go Green!

The rooms were clean, well maintained, and the environment relaxing and quiet. After a day out on the town, it was a pleasure to return to our rooms to find new towels and the bed linens neatly folded.

By the way, Joan and Edwin are a pleasure to talk to and have their own interesting stories to tell!

My recommendation: if you are planning a trip to Mid-coast Maine, stay at the Old Granite Inn!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asleeplessknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Our stay at the Old Granite Inn was wonderful! Our room and the public rooms were spotless. The breakfasts were absolutely gourmet. I can't imagine a better location for sampling all that Rockland has to offer - as well as ferry rides to nearby islands. The innkeepers were always available if we needed information or had a special request.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheetosBurlingtonWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

I was in Rockland recently for an art workshop and needed a place to stay for the week. The workshop was run out of a studio connected to one of the two large motels in town, so that was the obvious place to stay. But the Trip Advisor reviews made me leery of those places.
I was fortunate to stumble upon the Old Granite Inn, which is no more than a three-minute walk from the heart of Rockland and across the road from a wharf.
The innkeepers, Joan and Edwin, were everything I could want in a host--courteous, kind and interesting.
Ed prepares excellent breakfasts--fresh eggs, bacon, sausage, quiches, breads, scones. Seems like it must be a lot of work, but Ed seems to relish his time in the kitchen. (He slips a menu for the next day's breakfast under your room door each night.) The inn has coffee and tea available at all hours, as well as cookie jars for late-hour snackers, and access to a small refrigerator for guests who want to keep food or drinks cold. It made my week away from home seem more homey.
I appreciated Joan and Ed's choice of decor. The design is tastefully modern. I didn't find the myriad doilies and Victorian knick-knacks that I associate with B&Bs (and which tend to make me feel like I am visiting some strange old aunt).
Because I was staying for nearly a week, Joan and Ed gave me a discounted rate, which put my stay on par with (or perhaps even below) the rate charged by the two large local motels (which other workshop participants said were rather decrepit).
Check out the Old Granite Inn's web site for details.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travfamly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We were only in town for one night, and checked in later than we originally anticipated. No worries. Ed was a gracious, kind and helpful host. The room was comfortable, the bath towels were big and thirsty (a huge thumbs up for that), and the breakfast was a relaxed delight. The location of the Granite Inn, right on Main Street, couldn't be better. Best of all, they're pet friendly! We definitely plan to return with our dogs next time. HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSS29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

The Old Granite Inn, across the street from the Ferry terminal, is a very pleasant, welcoming spot, with simple but clean and comfortable rooms. The hosts make a wonderful breakfast, and the downstairs "lobby" is a great place to chat and play games. Downtown shopping, cafes, museum, and galleries are just a couple of blocks away. This is a fantastic alternative to the really scabrous Navigator Inn right next door.
By the way, the Japanese restaurant on main street is terrific- very creative.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
Thank Macaw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockland
0.5 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
255 reviews
2.5 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Berry Manor Inn
Berry Manor Inn
#1 of 8 in Rockland
1,048 reviews
0.3 mi away
LimeRock Inn
LimeRock Inn
#2 of 8 in Rockland
592 reviews
1.5 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Granite Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Granite Inn

Address: 546 Main St, Rockland, ME 04841-3341
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Rockland
Price Range: $124 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Granite Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Old Granite Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Granite Inn Rockland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing