We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Granite Inn
Nearby Hotels
Rockland Harbor Hotel(Rockland)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
250 Main Hotel(Rockland)(Great Value!)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trade Winds Inn(Rockland)
$99
$96
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
$171
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Claddagh Motel & Suites(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$79
$75
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ledges By the Bay(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$92
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island View Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$119
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strawberry Hill Seaside Inn(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Cove Inn & Suites(Rockport)(Great Value!)
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveler rating
133
28
8
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
133
28
8
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrittataferry terminallemon sconescookie jarb bmain streetmid century modern decorroom suitenice showerlovely musicfrom the ovenfresh cookiesplenty of hot waterinteresting guestsmy husband and ito mid coast maineevery afternoon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 177 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Prairie Village, KS
11
Reviewed October 31, 2004

In September 2004, I made my first trip to Maine to visit the art museums in Portland and Rockland and to eat seafood every day. They were great -- no surprises there. What was a surprise was the Old Granite Inn. It's a very spacious, grand old building with history and warmth, flowers and pet cats, harbor view and convenient location. I felt comfortably at home immediately. The Innkeeper has an easy laid-back style, full of information and makes you feel like one the group. At breakfast, I met folks who had been there before -- seems like they just keep coming back like old friends. I know I will.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2004

My husband and I stayed at the Old Granite Inn for a week during September. We couldn't have had a better time, nor could we have asked for a more accomodating host. The room was lovely, as is the entire Rockland area. We particularly enjoyed the breakfasts, there was fresh fruit a variety of delicious entrees and really great, strong coffee. This was the most restful vacation we have ever had and we plan to return to the Inn often.

2  Thank GardenLady412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2004

The building itself has atmosphere, but since the owners are trying to sell the property, they aren't interested in pleasing customers. Our greeting was underwhelming. We were not shown how anything in the two rooms we reserved operated. Heat had not been turned on, so the rooms were very cold. When we went to use the shower, we had to find the owner and ask for the water to be turned on. At 10:45 pm, we discovered that the beds in both room did not have sheets, only the blanket and spread. It took some time to awake the owner, who indicated that we should change rooms to ones that had sheets. The problem was that one of the rooms had radiator heat that was not turned on either, the other rooms having electric base-board heat. We opted to remove the linens from that room and make-up the beds in our our original rooms. My daughter was able to move to the second room because of the base-board heat. The breakfast in the morning was not anything special. We had become accustomed to special breakfast quiches or cassaroles, fresh juice and fruits, yogurt, fresh baked items, etc at other b&b's that we have stayed at. None of this was present here. We asked about an ajustment for our inconvenience and were told that because we were leaving our luggage for a few hours that that would be our adjustment. On a positive note, I had an 8:30 appointment in the Augusta area and food was made available at 7:15 which is earlier than the usual breakfast hour.

  • Stayed: May 2003, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank abettertraveleroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2004

In reply to Mr. G. of Canton, OH, I can only say, as I said to him: I am truly sorry for the unmade beds. While it was totally our fault, it took three of us to initiate our "innkeepers nightmare". I asked the new chambermaid to put sheets on the beds. She looked at the beds, all spread up (how they are left in the winter), and drew the erroneous conclusion that the beds were made up already. My husband, in inspecting the rooms, which he usually does meticulously, had not been alerted that the sheets needed to be checked - the beds looked good to him, as well.

Re. Mr. G's other comments: If he had read the booklet in his room, which explains inn operations, he would have known how best to alert this innkeeper (there is a bell to push inside the front door to get quick response). I do not do well with someone barging into my kitchen and yelling for me in my bedroom. Groggy with being rudely awakened, I thought it a fine idea that they move next door to rooms all made up. Apparently they did not, but did not say so. If they did not share their concerns with me, how could I respond?

While we apologized sincerely, we did not offer monetary recompense, as a generous discount and extended checkout from 11am to 4pm had been proffered and accepted before their arrival.

I assure you that service is our highest priority. We are welcoming back a high percentage of return guests this summer which we take as a true measure of the success of this venture.

We sincerely hope that you will understand that Mr. G's experience was an isolated and extraordinary event.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: We waren al opgestaan, maar anders zouden we waarschijnlijk wakker geworden zijn van geluiden uit de aangrenzende eetzaal.
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews