We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Berry Manor Inn is Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berry Manor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berry Manor Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Rockland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NH
1 review
“Berry Manor Inn is Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2007

We have visited B&Bs in MA, CO, AK, RI, NH, and ME; by far our best experiece is the Berry Manor Inn in Rockland, ME! The room that we had was a very pleasant, well kept, clean queen room. We were very impressed with the size of the room's bathroom and the comfort of the bed. The classical music that was playing on the radio as we came into the room set the mood for our relaxing weekend. We were able to sneek a peek at one of the king rooms as well, IT LOOKED SOOOOO COMFORTABLE with a clearly defined sitting area (comfy couch) and plush comfy bed. The multi- course morning meals were to die for! Our waitresses ("the moms") provided a lively, happy dining experience as they kept up with the coffee and the delicious food. No need to snack between breakfast and lunch as the portions were plentiful and hearty. Although, if you would like an afternoon, or midnight, snack there's always Berry Manor Inn Moms' homemade pie with a scoop of Giffords ice cream waiting for you in the guest pantry. The staff at the Berry Manor Inn made you feel as though you had a personal concierge; arranging our dinner reservations, and providing detailed "go-see-em" excursions. Whether you're passing through Maine or on an extended stay the Berry Manor Inn should be your home away from home.

  • Liked — Comfort, not only rooms but hospitable atmosphere created by owners and staff
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nhskimoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    957
    17
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
71
714
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2007

Stayed for two days and could not be more impressed. The inn keepers Cheryl & Mike were warm, gracious and ran a first class operation, The inn has been faithfully restored to its original pristine Victorian condition with updated amenities such as two head showers, WIFI and a/c. Of course, I can not be remiss and forget mentioning the pies that are served fresh baked every day.

The location is within a short walk of down town Rockland. The town is much more interesting then Camden and has five very good restaurants within two blocks of each other, There are galleries, the Farnsworth, a movie theater, and nice shops (no touristy t-shirt joints).

Cheryl mentioned that a pilot opened a new business providing scenic helicopter tours. I gave it a try and it was quite an experience. Thank you Cheryl!

In summary, I give Berry Manor an emphatic two thumbs up.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwise5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2007

Why would you stay anywhere else? We just left a couple of days ago and are still dreaming of the raspberry and blackberry pie (delicious beyond words) always available in the kitchen, the delightful accomodations, the cheerful (and extremely helpful) advice of our hosts Mike and Cheryl, and the decadent breakfasts. If you are debating about where to stay, stop doing so immediately and book at room at the Berry Manor! It was quiet, inviting, romantic, and very relaxing. Plenty of books, magazines, games (and of course the internet) abound for rainy days. Cheryl and Mike will book many an outing for you, and will give you discounts for booking through the Manor whenever possible.

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoecat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2007

Our stay at the Berry Manor could not have been better. Here is a place where nothing is spared when it comes to the comfort and enjoyment of the guests. Mike and Cheryl are terrific hosts, the home is beautiful, beds exremely comfortable . . . and, oh, those showers! - stand up jacuzzis! Breakfasts were excellent and upon returning to the inn after a dinner in town there was a home made pie waiting for us in the guest pantry and vanilla ice cream in the freezer. Would we go back? In a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Our room, showers, breakfast, pies, our hosts, proximity to town, great house
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dante43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2007

My husband and I went away with some friends to the Berry Manor Inn for a weekend getaway. I have never stayed at a Bed and Breakfast and wasn't quite sure what to expect. I have never been so wowed by one place. The owners have created a home away from home. I felt more relaxed at the Inn than I ever have in any hotel. Each room has its own individual atmosphere. Breakfast was a wonderful time and Cheryl and Mike certainly know how to humor and entertain their guests. I will most definately be coming back to this wonderful place and plan on telling all of my friends about it.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank camycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2007

I have never before reviewed a property, but after our stay at the Berry Manor Inn in May 2006, I feel that I must break with tradition and let others know about how wonderful the Inn is. Having never stayed at a B&B, I wasn't sure what to expect. I stayed there as part of a wedding party, and we had the entire place (main house and carriage house) for the wedding party/guests. The owners were wonderful, always willing to chat with you and make sure that everything ran smoothly, but never intrusive. I stayed in Room 11 in the carriage house, and I can't wait to go back. The bathroom was enormous, with an expansive whirlpool tub and the walk in shower built for two had 8 jets. Heaven on earth. The bed was superb and there was a gas fireplace on a timer in the corner, so you could fall asleep with the flickering light from the flames dancing on the walls (thanks to the timer there were no worries about burning the place down!). The carriage house also had its own common area with a kitchen alcove, which was always stocked with fresh homemade pie, ice cream, bottled water and even frosted beer glasses in the freezer! There was also a coffee maker that was set to automatically have fresh coffee waiting for us when we woke up. The breakfasts, served in the main house, were impressive and very gourmet. All in all, I can't say enough GOOD things about the Berry Manor Inn and I can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank miasusieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Coast Maine, Maine
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2007

I could go on and on and on about the Berry Manor Inn, but all the earlier reviews already go into so much detail about the perfection of this place.

I think the best review and compliment of something is that guests return for more. I've been back to the Berry Manor Inn twice now, and will certainly return again when I'm passing through the area. In the meantime, I very highly recommend it to anyone that is going to be in the mid-coast area. This experience should not be missed.

  • Liked — Service.....the type you would get in a 5 star hotel.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sailorgirl2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockland
0.6 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
1.7 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berry Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berry Manor Inn

Property: Berry Manor Inn
Address: 81 Talbot Ave, Rockland, ME 04841-2922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Rockland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic AAA 4 Diamond Maine bed and breakfast in the lovely town of Rockland. Our historic Rockland, Maine lodging features 12 beautifully appointed rooms with luxurious bedding, whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Don't miss out on complimentary gourmet breakfast, evening sweets with our award winning pies, off-street parking & our stocked guest pantry. Searching through all the Rockland, Maine Hotels or bed and breakfasts in Camden? Come discover the magic of The Berry Manor Inn, a Select Registry Property. Named a Top 10 B&B in the Nation by Yelp and TripAdvisor Reviewers! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Berry Manor Hotel Rockland
Berry Manor Inn Rockland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing