We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new #1 on our list of B&Bs”
Review of Berry Manor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Berry Manor Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Rockland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We have stayed in many B&Bs over the past five years and the Berry Manor Inn is now at the top of our list. We stayed for two nights at the Berry Manor Inn on our Maine Coast trip, traveling from York to Bar Harbor.

When we drove up to the Berry Manor our first impression was very good…..the grounds and the house were gorgeous. Flowers everywhere, beds well-maintained and the inn itself looked freshly painted. We entered the front door from a big front porch which contained sofas and chairs as well as a cat which we later found out was named Captain Nemo. The porch was a great place to have a evening cocktail before dinner. We were greeted by Mike, one half of the Mike and Cheryl innkeeper/owner team. He gave us a tour of the restored Victorian along with some interesting historical information about the house as well as the original owner (Mike and Cheryl are only the second owners of the house) and Rockland. Don’t know how many times he has given the talk but he made it seem as if it was the first time. He was so enthusiastic. The common/public areas were absolutely beautiful. He bought us into the kitchen which he said was open to us any time of day for use of the refrigerator and microwave. And then there were the pies…..blueberry, apple and cherry…..all made fresh by Mike’s mother who lived on the grounds in another structure. The pies were always on the counter for the guests along with the classic Maine ice cream, Gifford’s, in the freezer.

Mike took us up the wide stairs to our second floor room, #2, which was in the front of the house. Although the room faced the street there was virtually no traffic and was extremely quiet. The room was huge with a great wood floor and oriental rugs, walk-in closet, fireplace, bay windows, flat screen television and a beautiful king size bed. Again the furnishings were wonderful and the room was beautifully decorated. The bathroom was spotless and featured a long soaking tub….the fixtures were original and black porcelain. As others have said, whenever you got back to your room it had been freshened-up.

A really nice touch was that there was a seating area on the second floor, actually right outside our door, and in the morning coffee and juice was there waiting for us at 7am……no need to go downstairs for your first cup. The breakfasts were excellent and could be taken wherever you wanted. The main dining room had about 8 tables with linens and fresh flowers. Cheryl was doing the cooking and Mike serving and holding court in his lobster headgear or his lighthouse top hat. Cheryl accommodated our dietary needs with no problem.

The Berry Manor Inn is located in a residential neighborhood away from the traffic and noise of the downtown, but within easy walking to Rockland’s “Main Street” and its restaurants, shops, museums and the harbor.

What a truly wonderful experience we had at the Berry Manor Inn. Not only the accommodations, but the wonderful feeling we got from Mike and Cheryl as well as Chelsea the entire staff. If you are in the Mid Coast Maine do not fail to consider the Berry Manor Inn in Rockland. We recommend it without

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertinRedBank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,035)
There are newer reviews for Berry Manor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 1,035 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2010

The Berry Manor Inn was absolutely phenomenal. Our room was beautiful, and perfected down to every little detail. Every time we stepped out of the room, materials were restocked and the room was straightened. We were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome, received a tour of not only the house but a verbal tour of the area. We had assistance with dinner reservations and help choosing which activities best suited our lifestyle. The breakfasts were out of this world, and the pies which are available 24/7 were delicious. This has been by far the best Inn we have ever stayed in and can't wait to come back for more.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubbles1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Our few days in Maine were amazing. Excellent, clean homey rooms with special touches. Amazing gourmet breakfasts, and of course their pies and coffee available all day were indescribable...so delicious. Cheryl and Mike are lovely innkeepers, so friendly and knowledgeable about the Rockland area and we found out well liked in the community too for all that they do for the community. We had the lobster, lighthouse and luxury package, so learned so much about lobsters and lighthouses with all the activities that were part of the package. Lori and Chelsea, asst. innkeepers were delightful too. We will definitely plan to go back sometime soon. Loved our room in the carriage house and only go to air conditioned b & b's, which Berry Manor is. A wonderful and relaxing stay. Loved learning about the history of the house and carriage house too. Also loved that they had a cat, Capt. Nemo, as we are cat lovers.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suebonner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Berry Manor Inn is fabulous. The innkeepers are friendly, knowledgeable and fun! Breakfasts were yummy, and the pies were hard to resist. Everything about this inn is top notch and wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssvw27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

The Berry Manor Inn is a gem on a street of Victorians. The Inn has a wide porch for relaxing and has been restored perfectly. It was a place to be surrounded by period furnishings and historical elements. And then there is the pie....you can get up at any time and wander into the kitchen for a piece of pie. We loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aldelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

This historical Inn was beautiful kept. Upon arriving, you are greated with a vision of beautiful flowers and other vegetation. When checking in, we were given a tour of the Inn along with some of the history behind it. We were taken to our room which was spacious and well decorated. The Owners and the Inn Keeper were extremely pleasant and made sure we had all the comforts we required, plus more. The breakfasts provided in the morning were elegant. Of course, I must mention the home made pies available to all guests. Not only were they the best pies I've ever eaten, there was a microwave oven available to heat the pies up and ice cream to top it. Rockland is a beautiful Maine coastal town and a great place to visit. I would highly recommend staying at the Berry Manor Inn if traveling to this area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quilter35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

As a younger couple, my wife and I sometimes find B&Bs catering to only the "older crowd." My wife and I have been to quite a few B&Bs through out the eat coast, this was one the best yet. They had something for everyone. We twice had to switch dates for our trip because of work reasons and the innkeepers were amazingly gracious and accommodating for us. The staff is extremely friendly, personably, and very helpful. They knew the surrounding area like the back of their hand, enabling them to help us choose the best places to eat and visit based upon our personal like and dislikes instead of just a mere general this is good or bad. In other-words they learn a bit about you then offer some recommendations. The breakfast was a delicious three-course meal served by an ever entraining chef. The room we stayed in had the most amenities (HD flat screen on a swivel, jet tub, dual shower heads, wire internet, fireplace etc) out of all the B&Bs we've been to. And to top it all off we enjoyed some of the best pie ever! I would unconditionally recommend the Berry Manor Inn and will defiantly bring my wife back in the near future.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fewleftstanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockland
0.3 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
220 reviews
0.6 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
122 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
0.3 mi away
LimeRock Inn
LimeRock Inn
#2 of 8 in Rockland
582 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#3 of 10 in Rockport
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berry Manor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berry Manor Inn

Address: 81 Talbot Ave, Rockland, ME 04841-2922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Rockland
Price Range: $141 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to a romantic AAA 4 Diamond Maine bed and breakfast in the lovely town of Rockland. Our historic Rockland, Maine lodging features 12 beautifully appointed rooms with luxurious bedding, whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. Don't miss out on complimentary gourmet breakfast, evening sweets with our award winning pies, off-street parking & our stocked guest pantry. Searching through all the Rockland, Maine Hotels or bed and breakfasts in Camden? Come discover the magic of The Berry Manor Inn, a Select Registry Property. Named a Top 10 B&B in the Nation by Yelp and TripAdvisor Reviewers! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Berry Manor Hotel Rockland
Berry Manor Inn Rockland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing