We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“better than your average mexican,,SUPER FRESH”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunfire Mexican Grill - CLOSED

Sunfire Mexican Grill
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“better than your average mexican,,SUPER FRESH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I don't think many of the average mexican greasy spoon lovers will get this place because they don't serve old chips and salsa from a can before you get the heart burn special that gives you acid reflux for the afternoon,,what they do is prepare fresh,and i mean fresh clean healthy mexican that is seasoned well and presented artfully,,I just read the last two reviews and i eat here a few times a year,,go back to your taco bell shacks and enjoy your next bypass operation,,if you want it done well and with a new kinda spin try sunfire,,and one more thing,,they are the cleanest place I believe i have ever been in,,from the restrooms to the kitchen which is open for all to see,,

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ssscout78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    13
    8
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biddeford, Maine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what you get!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was very disappointed with this restaurant! First, I have never been to a Mexican restaurant where they did not bring over chips and salsa while I waited for my meal! Second, when I saw the menu, I was surprised by the prices, but I was hungry and thought this meant good portions. I was so wrong. The food was average and the portions were very small. I arrived hungry and left hungry..and I have never had that happen at a Mexican restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Doris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sorry, but I ..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

was not a happy camper in visiting this restaurant. The taste of the food was "average" but the portions were in my opinion small. I will say that I was very hungry when I arrived but did not feel satisfied when I left. AND I have been eating Mexican food (just love it!) for many, many years and this was a first for me when chips and salsa (when you arrive) was not included in the meal price. Really??? I will stick to my restaurants down here in southern Maine.

I will not be returning.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camden, maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great meal, superb service... go for it next time you are in Rockland Maine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I needed a quick turnaround meal in order to catch a movie. Sunfire Grill understood what that meant and satisfied us to a "T". Great meal, fish tacos of course, and a plate of nachos for starters. Reasonable prices and we saw three couples that we had seen in a while, so it was a great experience. We plan to patronize them again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank linklind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deadwood, South Dakota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great mexican food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stopped here for lunch on my way up to Ellsworth from Portland. The place is clean and the service was fast. I had the Super Burrito which was fantastic. Prices are decent. I would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katie123064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunfire Mexican Grill also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing