We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful reasonable wine list” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of In Good Company

In Good Company
Ranked #6 of 86 Restaurants in Rockland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are open seven days a week from 4:30 pm to close. Good company is fundamental...With friends everything tastes better, is more enjoyable and better absorbed. It enriches your blood and spirit.
Trego, Montana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful reasonable wine list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Imaginative & delicious appetizers. We shared 7 of them between the 2 of us and really had a good time trying everything while sharing a bottle of wine. Excellent service. Very comfortable sitting on the couch with a large table filled with giant radish slices, very good cheese board with some unfamiliar ( to me) cheeses and much more. We'll probably go back again tonight. Chef studied in NYC (according to our b&b hostess) and it shows.

Helpful?
Thank mefhef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    61
    6
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Reading, MA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

An easy walk from our inn, this restaurant pleased us with its eclectic menu with fresh ingredients. The waitress was great and was able to accommodate several of our special requests. My water glass was continually refilled before it ran out, an indicator of the smooth service. We will come back next time we're in Rockland

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shartwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

The decor was pleasant and inviting. I heard the wine list was impressive, but found the offerings per glass to be quite limited (only 1 red from France ... a Syrah?). The menu is rather small; there are only 5 main courses (the kitchen is also very small and open to the dining room). I had a red beet and arugula salad to start. I had the black trumpet mushroom risotto as an entree, which was a little under seasoned for my taste. Overall, the prices were moderate. Service was pretty good.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DingusMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Superb, gourmet food and service; good, reasonably price wine list. Small, intimate; top notch; highly recommend.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
225 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“One day great the next time not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just back from vacation in Maine. We loved this place on on first visit. Great bartender as well the food was great. Second visit that week not so good as we sat at a table this time and service levels were very poor and the quality of food was not at the level of our first time. So our experience was inconsistent. We will go back to give this place to try it one more time. To me consistency is everything in the restaurant business from food to service. I loved this place from the layout to the theme so maybe they just had an off night. I do think there is room for improvement..

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cmpqse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed In Good Company also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to In Good Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing