We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”
Review of Maine Eastern Railroad - CLOSED

Maine Eastern Railroad
Attraction details
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Comfortable seats for the 2 hour ride. Did the overnight package with B&B. easy to walk to nearby attractions.

4  Thank MadridIAtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 28 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

Rode this train roundtrip from Rockland to Brunswick and it was a balmy evening with restored but very comfortable seats on this nostalgic train. We actually planned on doing it again this past visit but the train no longer runs from Rockland but only roundtrip from Brunswick. Great way to see the countryside and the office lady, Debbie, is very helpful and friendly.

2  Thank Chopperflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This train ride to Rockland is an absolute delight. The 1950s carriages are spacious and comfortable, and the views of the countryside are just perfect. The three hour stay in Rockland is time for lunch, and at least one of the museums. Our favorite was the lighthouse museum, which was so interesting. The company could do so much more with the service. The tickets are expensive and one train a day is too few. There was a catering facility but it was not being used. An attempt should be made to co-ordinate properly with the Downeaster service from Boston. There is a hidden gem for Maine tourism which would benefit from some work being done on it.

3  Thank geoffrey100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaineEasternRR, Marketing Associate at Maine Eastern Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We are working to make a full connection with the Downeaster for the 2014 season, and we are also analyzing our current ticket prices versus the costs of operation. Stay tuned for some positive changes for 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Wonderful scenery and an interesting destination. An on-board ambassador welcomed us and answered questions about Rockland. Fine old RR cars provided a smooth ride.

Thank LivyGl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaineEasternRR, Marketing Associate at Maine Eastern Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

We're very glad you enjoyed your ride!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

After running around for days, my family and I decided to take this train excursion as a way of seeing the sights, with someone else doing the navigating and driving (no more Rt. 1 traffic!) Although it was foggy, we could still appreciate the beauty along the way, and we each had comfortable reclining sits in which to relax. We left from Wiscasset and rode to Rockland, spent our 3 hours there (time for lunch, a trip to the harbor, and some shopping) and did the full return trip with other family members meeting us in Brunswick. Perfect way to spend the day. Only down side was the AC on high, despite the 60 degree temps outside!

1  Thank wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaineEasternRR, Marketing Associate at Maine Eastern Railroad, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We're very glad you enjoyed your ride!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maine Eastern Railroad also viewed

 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing