We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite for dinner and lunch”
Review of Cafe Miranda

Cafe Miranda
Ranked #4 of 89 Restaurants in Rockland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main Street
Description: Cafe Miranda has been located in downtown Rockland, Maine since 1993. We offer a vast menu of wood-fired oven, seasonal & adventurous ethnic dishes using locally harvested ingredients from our own farm. Come by and join us for lunch or dinner seven days a week and brunch on Sunday. Reservations are suggested for dinner. Lunch and breakfast walk-ins only. See our website for menus.
Rockland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A favorite for dinner and lunch”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We never get tired of Cafe Miranda, and I am thrilled that they now offer lunch! Beef Groce and the fire roasted veggies are my favorite meal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    178
    71
    28
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CoastalMaine
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Quirky Place”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a popular place and with good reason. The food is consistently very good. The prices are fair, except possibly the wines which tend to be on the pricey side. The chef changes the menu daily as his whims change. It is a nice, out-of-the-way place worth trying.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimD53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What a great experience”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Sometimes you find a place with a varied and interesting menu where everything is really well executed, and this is one! Wow! We have been going for years and it quickly became my favorite place in Rockland. The meal starts with amazing homemade bread. The dishes are all creative and really well executed. It is worth noting that reservations are often a good idea!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HereAtLast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A decent eat...”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We visited the Rockland/Camden area for a getaway from our children. We decided to try out Cafe Miranda on the recommendation from TA reviews and on the recommendations from the B&B we stayed at. Like many restaurants in the area, it was small, with limited seating. For a Wednesday evening, it was full, and we got the last seat. The restaurant is loud, and a bit crowded, but not horrible. It would be a restaurant I'd bring my children to as well. The menu is extremely big, and if you have ADD, you may have trouble deciding what you want :) - I wish they would cut back on their offerings a bit, but I will say what they did, they did fairly well. My husband and I ordered the egg rolls and a chorizo & mussels appetizer. The egg rolls were awesome, and unlike most egg rolls, were FILLED with chicken. The chorizo & mussels appetizer was pretty good, too. My husband and I shared the special of lobster ravioli in a cream sauce. It will quite good. Too big for one person, a tad small for two, but with the appetizers, we were left feeling full. The fresh bread served was very good as well. The service was average-very good. Overall, I'd go back, but I think it would not be my first choice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chaquita213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Funky, eclectic bistro”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Went here on Wednesday with friends and was delighted. The cafe is small and has a really eclectic decor! The service was spot on and the food was delish! Loved the menu. No matter what I had had in mind for dinner, they had something in the right line.

I ended up having the Et Tu Brutus salad. Nicely done sort of Caesar!

Would definitely go back when in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jean_likes_maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Miranda also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Cafe Miranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing