We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upstairs Downstairs on Main”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 3CROW Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

3CROW Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rockland, Maine
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Upstairs Downstairs on Main”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

This past week I ate upstairs at the bar with a friend. I had the white wine on tap (lovely, dry and crisp) and my friend a trio tasting of beers which I thought were rather generous for "tastings." We ordered bar food to share -- onion rings and frites and followed those with an appetizer sized portion of marinated beef tips and crispy kale. Every one of these items was outstanding. The service at the bar was attentive and timely without being intrusive. A young woman staffer working near the bar recommended the beef tips to us as that evenings special. I thank her for that.

A few nights later I was lucky enough to be invited to a big birthday dinner in the private dining room downstairs. There were 12 of us at table. Its a spacious room with just the right level of lighting and plenty of room for pre-dinner mingling while having drinks. Table service was lovely and professional (the same young woman who had recommended the beef tips at the bar) and the food outstanding -- we started with soup (butternut squash) and arugula salad and then moved on to the entrée of steak with greens as a side. There was a local fish as an option but I think most of us ordered the steak. I live here year round so will be back often.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    56
    30
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
395 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good Food & Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

A very nice restaurant right on Main Street. Good, low key atmosphere when we went (it is off-season). Great beverage menu of wine and beers. The menu is not extensive, but the three of us had no problem choosing. We all actually went for a couple of dishes under the "Firsts" as opposed to one of the main dishes. No one was disappointed. I had the butternut squash soup with to-die-for cornbread croutons as well as the Gumbo, which was not too spicy (the way I like it). The Cajun Rice Ball was also a hit at the table. Full menu can be linked off their website--http://www.3crow.com/

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank W-Hartford_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttynot20
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good but has lots of potential to be great!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

first time here, we liked the way it looked inside when we walked by in the afternoon, right on main street , the dcore was good and it is cool inside , the problem for us was the menu! not good choices for us it was more what do i 'dislike the most' had the 'haddock' it was ok but nothing to come back for, served with beets and roasted potato's , not a good combo, 'grits and lobster' was good the best of all our dish's, 'hush puppies' they were great but the sauce was not, the ketchup also was not good with the french fri's, these little things that could and should be fixed, its like they have the seats and high style restaurant but the menu is lacking! we did not get dessert! we hope that with small fixes , a sauce to complement the hush puppies it was very bland and ketchup is something you dont fool with, like i said a few small fix's and you will be very busy ,

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ttynot20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
191 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Fun spot with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We love to try new places during our annual trip to this area and 3crow has been added to our favorites list. Other reviews noted it can be noisy but we were seated along the back wall area and found the noise level active but not an issue. Nice decor with an airy, bright, contemporary feel. Menu offered lots of choices with us choosing several dishes and loved them all, especially nice green salad and gumbo. We will return prices are fair for this resort area.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lilybdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Head, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“getting better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Glad to see this place getting better every time we go in. Good southern food. But i think you should stay with local flavors. But still good. We will be back soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Benner74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 3CROW Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing