We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Winding Way Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 8 Rockland B&B and Inns
Millbury, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming place to stay”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at this lovely, recently renovated B&B. We stayed in the Sarah Thurlow room. It was attractively decorated, with an ample closet and beautiful bathroom (skylight over shower). Ann’s artistic sense shows in her attention to detail: hand painted mugs, stenciled hangers, high quality amenities, coordinated appointments in our room and throughout the house. She is more than hospitable with suggestions for dining, sightseeing etc. as well as providing homemade cookies, lemonade in afternoon, coffee/tea, ice cream with fixings, chocolates in the room. Breakfast is delicious as described in the other reviews so too is that feeling of being in one’s own home except you don’t have clean-up. Located a block from a main street, there is some traffic noise which is more than made up for by the proximity to museums, shops, restaurants, etc. It’s a perfect place to stay if you want to make day trips to points along the coast. Definitely planning to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine_JohnL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rockford ,IL
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Winding Way. It is too charming for words. The hostess, Anne, is warm and friendly and you feel that she could be your best friend if you were neighbors. The Inn doubles a a water color art gallery and houses the works of 4 artists including Anne. Part of the inn was an ice cream studio in its earliest years, so Anne provides 3 different kinds of ice cream and all the fixings for sundaes. Breakfast is served at your convenience. There is an egg dish, breads, fresh scones, yogurt, and fresh fruit. Coffee, tea, and hot chocolate are available all day along with fresh baked cookies. There are two guest rooms upstairs, each with a beautifully remodeled bathroom. The beds are comfy, and the decor is as charming and artistic as the paintings on the wall. The inn is situated a few blocks from the ocean, but less than a 5 minute walk to the docks, restaurants, and shops in downtown Rockland. The charming glassed in front porch offers a cozy place to drink coffee and watch the activities in town. It is on a Main Street, but it was peaceful and quiet. There is also a side porch outside set amid lovely hanging baskets. I loved sleeping in an art gallery!

Room Tip: The front rom is a little more spacious with higher ceilings. The back room may be quieter. I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teachem4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the Winding Way last weekend! Boyfriend and I stayed 1 night and were welcomed by Anne (the sweetest lady!) with great warmness and comfort. Stayed in the Edward Thurgood room and it was very cozy- saw another review that the ceilings were low, but this is not the case- the house is a New England classic and sloped ceilings are just a part of the charm. The room was cozy, with it's own private bathroom- very comfortable bed and plenty of Maine/seaside decor.

We were the only 2 people in the house and it was like the house was our own! There was homemade ice cream in the freezer complete with whipped cream and sprinkles for a late night treat (the house used to be an ice cream parlor!)

Great location steps from Rockland's downtown which meant no driving, always a plus. In the morning we had breakfast and chatted with Anne before exploring more that Rockland has to offer. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank margoinmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed just one night in this quaint and lovely place. Ann was most gracious and took care of all our needs. The gallery is beautiful. Ann's works are wonderful and one of her prints prompted us to visit nearby alderman farms to meet the Baby Beltie cows! This was a most pleasant part of our Maine vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kbird2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The owner, Ann, couldn't have been nicer. The room was beautiful, clean and tastefully decorated. We would definitely stay here again. The price was so reasonable. The breakfast was really nice and plentiful. The setting was great. You felt like you had the use of the house like it was your own. Ice cream in the freezer. Cookies and fresh lemonade. Really so much nicer than staying in a hotel.

Room Tip: Only two rooms I think both are fine. Didn't really see the other room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cardigandcorgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Beautifully furnished rooms, with the most comfortable beds ,and armchairs to sit and relax in one's room, or rock in a chair on the sun filled enclosed porch...bliss after a day exploring the Farnsworth and Wyeth art museums, (both just minutes away) or walking out to the lighthouse at the end of the famous Rockland granite breakwater.
And to wake each morning to the generous, well prepared and presented breakfast just adds to the sense of being pampered.
But that's not the whole story, for Winding Way is not just a B &B, it is also a watercolour gallery, displaying the delightful work of the owner and her fellow artists in 2 dedicated gallery rooms and throughout the house.
If you like the intimate feel of a small, comfortable guest house, but also relish the luxury of a good hotel, then you will really enjoy your stay at this special and innovative B & B.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewEngland2ndHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The location is wonderfull. It is smack dab in the middle of town. You can walk to just about every place you would like to go, restaurants, shopping, art centers and museums. There is no view of the water, but just walk or bicycle two blocks and you will have plenty of water views. Anne (the owner and resident watercolor artist) has two bedrooms upstairs with private baths and a sitting or board game room. I would recomend the Sarah Thurlow room for enyone close to six feet tall. The Edward Thurlow room has a low celling. Anne also has parking for two compact cars at the B&B, but has made arrangements for some off-site parking if needed (across the street). If yoiu are into the Arts, Anne will make a wonderfull host with a lot of knowledge about the local Art scene. Also, ICE CREAM is available. It turns out that years ago this was an Ice Cream Parlor and Sarah Thurlow used to make her own Ice Cream. Anne carries on this tradition with Ice Cream available to you. This is a very nice way to end or start the day.

Room Tip: I would recomend the Sarah Thurlow room for enyone close to six feet tall. The Edward Thurlow room h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockland
0.3 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
109 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Trade Winds Inn
Trade Winds Inn
#3 of 3 in Rockland
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
LimeRock Inn
LimeRock Inn
#2 of 8 in Rockland
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lindsey Hotel
Lindsey Hotel
#4 of 8 in Rockland
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winding Way Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winding Way Bed and Breakfast

Property: Winding Way Bed and Breakfast
Address: 39 Union St, Rockland, ME 04841-2840
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Rockland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Winding Way Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B &B is in a rennovated c.1855 victorian house one block from the Main street and Rockland Harbor. We are around the corner from The Farnsworth Art Museum and across the street from The Wyeth Center. We have two sunny queen rooms and a guest sitting room on the second floor of the house. Our art gallery is on the first floor. It is possible to rent the house and have children accompany the family. We have a gift shop where we sell prints and cards of our artist's work plus art supplies for the traveling or beginning watercolorist. "Watercolor Lessons in a Bag" is also available for purchase which includes everything needed to begin doing watercolors in a weekend. We are avid cyclists and can show you all the best routes to coastal villages, lighthouses and beaches. We can help you get a bike if you did not bring your own and have secure parking for bicycles. The house included an ice cream parlor in the late 1800's and we serve ice cream to our guests. We have traveled a lot in the USA, Europe,Canada and South Africa and love to stay in small inns and B&Bs. We have taken the best ideas from all of those places and we hope you will agree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Winding Way Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winding Way Bed And Breakfast Rockland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing