We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bufflehead Sailing Charters
Open today: 8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Perfect fall afternoon on the water

What an amazing afternoon, sailing with Sam and ‘crew’, weather was stunning, fall light and... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
127susiea
via mobile
Must do!

We had a great time on the Bufflehead. Captain Dan and his crew were experienced, entertaining, and... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
J780XHjenniferm
Read all 159 reviews
  
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveler rating
158
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
158
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain daniel his knowledge island picnic hour cruise great morning nice trip penobscot bay mid coast weather was perfect bennett stories sail boats monroe maine wind witness
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 159 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2017

This was the best thing we did on our trip according to the entire family. Captain Dan was awesome and let us help with whatever we wanted in the sailing practice. He is as much a teacher (a very very knowledgeable teacher) as a Captain. We really enjoyed the sailing as well as the history, maritime, and sailing lessons we received. Captain Dan also has great stories and is an awesome conversationalist. This is also an extremely affordable experience when compared to other experiences of a similar vein. As a family man, the Captain understands the value of creating experiences that the entire family can share. One huge point for us was that the charter is much more intimate than many other more expensive options. What I mean is, the boat hold 6 people plus the Captain, so each person can have a great experience.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Bernard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

A group of 6 of us sailed around Penobscot Bay last week with Captain Dan. It was a GREAT experience. Captain Dan is an amazing host, providing interesting details about the past and present of the Rockland harbor area and bay. In addition, it was so interesting to learn about the history of the Bufflehead. All six of us had a wonderful time with Captain Dan on Bufflehead, and we all recommend this trip!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank realmikep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017

A personal sail and interesting tour of the coastal area. Captain Dan was very engaging without intruding. Provided historical and interesting information without droning on. Clearly not a canned tourist speech. I would go again in a heartbeat.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank chankmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017

Wonderful afternoon sail with a very experienced and knowledgeable captain. Highly recommended for all. Safe, fun and enlightening.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Baronmiguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

Captain Dan provides a true Maine sailing experience on the waters around Rockland. We sailed alongside & darted among the dozen or so Windjammers as they paraded along the Rockland Breakwater. Captain Dab gave us a bonus excursion out to Owl's Head Lighthouse for some remarkable images and was thorough in his knowledge of the history of Rockland & the harbor during our sail. If you are lucky, you too will meet his family on board. Simply put, a remarkable way to spend the afternoon & no better way to do it than with Captain Dan on the Bufflehead.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank jonkacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews