We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Amazing Day!”

Bufflehead Sailing Charters
Ranked #1 of 20 Tours in Rockland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bufflehead is a 32 foot wooden gaff sloop, a classic boat, built in 1964. She is a very pretty boat, superbly swift, comfortable and safe. Captain Daniel Bennett sailed around the Pacific Ocean on a tall ship, and twice across the Atlantic (and back and forth to the Caribbean) on his own small boat.
Reviewed September 6, 2016

Not enough stars to rate this experience! Daniel has a unique ability to engage people in a way that is informative and collaborative. Bring a bottle of wine and food to share with others as Daniel unfolds the story of the Bufflehead and her home. In addition to a wonderful sailing trip you can learn almost anything you'd like about the social, economical, and historical aspects of Rockland and surrounding areas. It's definitely one of those places you'd consider a gem and will want to return to again.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank jjanowsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain daniel"
in 53 reviews
"hour sail"
in 11 reviews
"great captain"
in 10 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 7 reviews
"setting sun"
in 3 reviews
"great stories"
in 4 reviews
"wonderful afternoon"
in 4 reviews
"smaller boat"
in 2 reviews
"short hike"
in 2 reviews
"an amazing host"
in 2 reviews
"lobster lunch"
in 2 reviews
"homemade potato salad"
in 2 reviews
"maine coast"
in 10 reviews
"longer trip"
in 2 reviews
"from texas"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful boat"
in 6 reviews
"his guitar"
in 2 reviews
Filter

49 - 53 of 141 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2016

My boyfriend and I wanted to do a sail while visiting Rockland but weren't sure we had the time to commit to a longer (2+ hour) time frame. Captain Dan was incredibly accommodating, not to mention affordable, and made it work for us. He guaranteed a beautiful sunset. Captain Dan is a magnificent storyteller, phenomenal sailor, and knows everything there is to know about Rockland. We are already dreaming of our next sail with him! His perspective on life is refreshing and endearing.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2016

Our family of 4 sailed with Captain Daniel in July on a trip through New England. He is an excellent sailor, sailing from the dock through the moored ships. He is friendly and knowledgeable and we were very comfortable with him. Didn't have much wind that morning, but he made the most of the trip.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank colleens924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2016

My wife and came to Rockland from Texas. We took the Bufflehead cruise because of many great reviews we read.
Captain Daniel and his crew (his family) were wonderful to us . We had a great time Daniel is an expert on sailing and the area. We learned a lot and also enjoyed visiting with his wife and children. We had a bonus because his sister and nephews were also on the trip.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank elmon721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2016

Our group of 5 recently spent the next to last day of our 2-week Mainevacation sailing with Bufflehead. Cpt. Dan was very knowledgable about the area and an accomplished sailor. Our lobster fest was outstanding in spite of some troublesome biting flies. We were also served fruit and cheese on the boat and a delicious blueberry pie for dessert.
The boat was a bit crowded at first but we soon moved around to find our own spots and were very comfortable. The personal attention was great! So much nicer than being with a crowd of strangers on the large schooners.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Debra2575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bufflehead Sailing Charters also viewed

 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Bufflehead Sailing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing