We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Mom and son adventure

BREATHTAKING. Capt. Dan quickly saw my 28 year old son was adventurous and was mesmerized by... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
I3043ZItinah
via mobile
Great captain and fun boat

After sailing with Dan and his kids I highly recommend his charters. He has a great attitude and... read more

Reviewed July 11, 2022
Ussubforce
,
South Hadley, Massachusetts
via mobile
Read all 171 reviews
  
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
169
1
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
169
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain daniel his knowledge great captain hour excursion beautiful boat made us feel at home sailing skills three hours rockland harbor lobster bake head lighthouse local history stories boats maine monroe wind
Sort and selected filters
Sort Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 171 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2016

My boyfriend and I wanted to do a sail while visiting Rockland but weren't sure we had the time to commit to a longer (2+ hour) time frame. Captain Dan was incredibly accommodating, not to mention affordable, and made it work for us. He guaranteed a beautiful sunset. Captain Dan is a magnificent storyteller, phenomenal sailor, and knows everything there is to know about Rockland. We are already dreaming of our next sail with him! His perspective on life is refreshing and endearing.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 31, 2016

Our family of 4 sailed with Captain Daniel in July on a trip through New England. He is an excellent sailor, sailing from the dock through the moored ships. He is friendly and knowledgeable and we were very comfortable with him. Didn't have much wind that morning, but he made the most of the trip.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank colleens924
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 26, 2016

My wife and came to Rockland from Texas. We took the Bufflehead cruise because of many great reviews we read.
Captain Daniel and his crew (his family) were wonderful to us . We had a great time Daniel is an expert on sailing and the area. We learned a lot and also enjoyed visiting with his wife and children. We had a bonus because his sister and nephews were also on the trip.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank elmon721
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 19, 2016

Our group of 5 recently spent the next to last day of our 2-week Mainevacation sailing with Bufflehead. Cpt. Dan was very knowledgable about the area and an accomplished sailor. Our lobster fest was outstanding in spite of some troublesome biting flies. We were also served fruit and cheese on the boat and a delicious blueberry pie for dessert.
The boat was a bit crowded at first but we soon moved around to find our own spots and were very comfortable. The personal attention was great! So much nicer than being with a crowd of strangers on the large schooners.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Debra2575
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 18, 2016

We had the pleasure of sailing with Captain Daniel on a recent trip to Maine. I highly recommend you book a trip with him! We loved the intimate feel of this sail. We felt like we were on our own boat! There was a family with two school-age kids with us, and Captain Daniel was so great to explain sailing details to them (which helped me better understand all the sails as well!) Captain Daniel's love of sailing and the coast of Maine shines through during the entire sail. We were able to see the lighthouses that we had visited on the land the day before from the Bay, and the view was spectacular. A must do while in Rockland, Maine!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank travelngh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews