We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Mom and son adventure

BREATHTAKING. Capt. Dan quickly saw my 28 year old son was adventurous and was mesmerized by... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
I3043ZItinah
via mobile
Great captain and fun boat

After sailing with Dan and his kids I highly recommend his charters. He has a great attitude and... read more

Reviewed July 11, 2022
Ussubforce
,
South Hadley, Massachusetts
via mobile
Read all 171 reviews
  
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
169
1
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
169
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain daniel his knowledge great captain hour excursion beautiful boat made us feel at home sailing skills three hours rockland harbor lobster bake head lighthouse local history stories boats maine monroe wind
Sort and selected filters
Sort Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 171 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2015

A cruise with Captain Daniel on the Bufflehead with my daughter and two friends to celebrate my late wife's life and her love of Penobscot Bay. It was the kind of perfect experience that we'll all remember for the rest of our lives. Captain Daniel's knowledge of the area and its sea lore is amazing.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 6, 2015

We did a four hour sail aboard the Bufflehead. This is a spectacular adventure with a local captain and his boat. Daniel is extremely competent,knowledgeable, and fun. You won't find a more pleasant and informative guide. The ride is exciting and so beautiful.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Tigersteve58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 2, 2015

Get out among the islands off Rockland and if you have the time, opt for the lobsterbake trip. Captain Daniel, his wife and daughter and the Bufflehead (solid, wooden sloop) provided a terrific experience at the right scale (6 people or less). More than worth it!

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank wgratyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 30, 2015

We did a two hour sail (meant to be three, but fog comes when it wants). There were two other couples on board which is just right. It is a perfect size vessel - small enough that you really feel you are sailing. Dan is extremely knowledgable about boats, the area, and has a bunch of great stories about the area and his time sailing all over. Especially if you have never had the chance to sail, this would be a great thing to do.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank huntejk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 23, 2015

We had a really memorable trip with captain daniel. What a wealth of local knowledge. Highlight was a lobster bake on Monroe Island, isolated, pristine. Food, just amazing, lobsters off the boat that morning, best potatoe salad and rhubarb pie ever. The pastry was out of this world. Capt Daniel gave us space but also happy to have a chat. I would take my kids on this if need be - super relaxed, but super safety conscious, flexible and fun. Thankyou

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Kate_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews