We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend our 20th anniversary”

Bufflehead Sailing Charters
Ranked #1 of 20 Tours in Rockland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bufflehead is a 32 foot wooden gaff sloop, a classic boat, built in 1964. She is a very pretty boat, superbly swift, comfortable and safe. Captain Daniel Bennett sailed around the Pacific Ocean on a tall ship, and twice across the Atlantic (and back and forth to the Caribbean) on his own small boat.
Reviewed August 11, 2015

The Samoset Resort recommended Bufflehead and we got super lucky that he had time available even though we called that morning! I was nervous because I often get seasick, but it could not have been more relaxing and beautiful and I never felt a second of seasickness. Daniel was extremely enjoyable as well, answering all of our questions about the boat, the area, sailing, etc. Two hours FLEW by and we regretted not reserving at least a half day. We are headed back with our kids over Labor Day and hope to go out again. Worth every penny to have a private ride on a beautiful boat.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank chrisnoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain daniel"
in 53 reviews
"hour sail"
in 11 reviews
"great captain"
in 10 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 7 reviews
"setting sun"
in 3 reviews
"great stories"
in 4 reviews
"wonderful afternoon"
in 4 reviews
"smaller boat"
in 2 reviews
"short hike"
in 2 reviews
"an amazing host"
in 2 reviews
"lobster lunch"
in 2 reviews
"homemade potato salad"
in 2 reviews
"maine coast"
in 10 reviews
"longer trip"
in 2 reviews
"from texas"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful boat"
in 6 reviews
"his guitar"
in 2 reviews
Filter

77 - 81 of 141 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2015

A cruise with Captain Daniel on the Bufflehead with my daughter and two friends to celebrate my late wife's life and her love of Penobscot Bay. It was the kind of perfect experience that we'll all remember for the rest of our lives. Captain Daniel's knowledge of the area and its sea lore is amazing.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2015

We did a four hour sail aboard the Bufflehead. This is a spectacular adventure with a local captain and his boat. Daniel is extremely competent,knowledgeable, and fun. You won't find a more pleasant and informative guide. The ride is exciting and so beautiful.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Tigersteve58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2015

Get out among the islands off Rockland and if you have the time, opt for the lobsterbake trip. Captain Daniel, his wife and daughter and the Bufflehead (solid, wooden sloop) provided a terrific experience at the right scale (6 people or less). More than worth it!

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank wgratyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2015

We did a two hour sail (meant to be three, but fog comes when it wants). There were two other couples on board which is just right. It is a perfect size vessel - small enough that you really feel you are sailing. Dan is extremely knowledgable about boats, the area, and has a bunch of great stories about the area and his time sailing all over. Especially if you have never had the chance to sail, this would be a great thing to do.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank huntejk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bufflehead Sailing Charters also viewed

 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Bufflehead Sailing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing