We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful experience - highly reccomend!

My family and I took a 2 hour trip out to the lighthouse and it was fantastic! Dan is a seasoned... read more

Reviewed May 9, 2022
abell44
,
abell44
Highly recommended!

Had a fantastic sail with Captain Daniel! We called him last minute to see if he could accommodate... read more

Reviewed October 5, 2021
deborahsE5879EE
Read all 169 reviews
  
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
167
1
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
167
1
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain daniel his knowledge hour tour made us feel at home beautiful boat three hours rockland harbor lobster bake head lighthouse great sail local history stories boats monroe maine wind vacation
Sort and selected filters
Sort Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 169 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2015

My wife scheduled a nice tour with Bufflehead as part of my 50th. We ran a few minutes late but no worries from Capt Daniel or first mate Raya. We were welcomed aboard and from the moment of casting off, you forget about anything that may have been stressful i.e. the construction on highway 1 :)

The Bufflehead is the perfect size for a small group (we had another couple with us). I've found you always get along with anyone who wants to just relax being a common goal. Weather was perfect and there was a nice wind which just provided the perfect ingredients for a nice trip. We enjoyed a nice tour of the bay including several lighthouses. What made the trip memorable was Capt Daniels history. I won't go into it but his telling if his background in vessel making/repair and how the Bufflehead came to be, as well as history of the area and the locale, just added to the total experience.

Date of experience: June 2015
2  Thank TKKR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2015

This is a relatively small boat, best for about 4-6 people. We took the 3 hour cruise and enjoyed every minute of it. That gave time to get to some small islands and back. Captain Daniel is an interesting guy: Very polite and well mannered. The day we sailed he brought his 7 year old daughter along as mate and performed her her duties with real professionalism.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2015 via mobile

Captain Daniel & First Mate Raya (Daniel's seven year old daughter) made sure our afternoon sail was excellent. They were both very friendly and knowledgable. The Bufflehead was well stocked with everything we needed (glasses, napkins, corkscrew) to make sure we had the best time possible. Daniel pointed out many interesting landmarks and kept the boat sailing smoothly. Raya would jump in eagerly to help the Captain. The next time we are in Rockland, we are definitely going out on the Bufflehead again! Thanks so much, Daniel & Raya!!!

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank bacotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2015

Captain Daniel made the sailing trip on the beautiful Bufflehead amazing! He knew so much about the area and sailing. He had awesome stories to tell that left us laughing, impressed and shocked. We went on a perfect breezy but sunny day! We would absolutely recommend sailing with Daniel and would love to go back ourselves!

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2014

Captain Dan Bennet and his 32' wooden gaff sloop presented us with a graceful boat, a perfect sailing day and 7 hours of ocean filled fun. We learned about Captain Bennet, sailing and wooden boat building expertise which he demonstrated all day. He even showed us how this small but able craft rights (steers) itself out of strong winds to guarantee safe sailing. You've got to ask him to show this to you, It's amazing. Also ask him to show you his "Office". We saw seals, diving seabirds, and an eagle. When you sail with Captain Dan, he lets you plan your hours and where you wish to go, seas and weather permitting, of course. He'll feed you or you can bring your own, just let him know. You can share the time with friends or make it private up to 6 people. My wife and I will remember this day a long time, it was just perfect.

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews