We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A TRULY ENJOYABLE SAIL”

Bufflehead Sailing Charters
Ranked #1 of 20 Tours in Rockland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bufflehead is a 32 foot wooden gaff sloop, a classic boat, built in 1964. She is a very pretty boat, superbly swift, comfortable and safe. Captain Daniel Bennett sailed around the Pacific Ocean on a tall ship, and twice across the Atlantic (and back and forth to the Caribbean) on his own small boat.
Reviewed June 29, 2015

We joined Captain Dan for a two hour sail and we got hours of pleasure from it. He sailed us out of the mooring and out of Rockport Harbor along the breakwater where we could exchange greetings and halloos with those doomed to roam afoot through the port as they trudged out to the lighthouse. We sailed on, in a brisk breeze, to Owl Light and then jibed back to cross most of the entrance to the bay before taking up a heading to intercept an outbound windjammer. Captain Daniel and I both regretted that he had left his cannon ashore along with his First Mate.
We all thoroughly enjoyed the sail and the setting sun as we returned to port along the outside of the breakwater. Dan is a wonderful skipper and his knowledge of the local area is deep and sublime. He knows everybody in the area and left us with a desire to find Cafe Miranda.
Every day is a great day for a sail. Bufflehead and Dan made it both a wonderful lesson in history of the area and a fantastic sail in a most unusual boat.

Date of experience: June 2015
2  Thank Curtis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain daniel"
in 53 reviews
"hour sail"
in 11 reviews
"great captain"
in 10 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 7 reviews
"setting sun"
in 3 reviews
"great stories"
in 4 reviews
"wonderful afternoon"
in 4 reviews
"smaller boat"
in 2 reviews
"short hike"
in 2 reviews
"an amazing host"
in 2 reviews
"lobster lunch"
in 2 reviews
"homemade potato salad"
in 2 reviews
"maine coast"
in 10 reviews
"longer trip"
in 2 reviews
"from texas"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful boat"
in 6 reviews
"his guitar"
in 2 reviews
Filter

87 - 91 of 141 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2015

My wife scheduled a nice tour with Bufflehead as part of my 50th. We ran a few minutes late but no worries from Capt Daniel or first mate Raya. We were welcomed aboard and from the moment of casting off, you forget about anything that may have been stressful i.e. the construction on highway 1 :)

The Bufflehead is the perfect size for a small group (we had another couple with us). I've found you always get along with anyone who wants to just relax being a common goal. Weather was perfect and there was a nice wind which just provided the perfect ingredients for a nice trip. We enjoyed a nice tour of the bay including several lighthouses. What made the trip memorable was Capt Daniels history. I won't go into it but his telling if his background in vessel making/repair and how the Bufflehead came to be, as well as history of the area and the locale, just added to the total experience.

Date of experience: June 2015
2  Thank TKKR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2015

This is a relatively small boat, best for about 4-6 people. We took the 3 hour cruise and enjoyed every minute of it. That gave time to get to some small islands and back. Captain Daniel is an interesting guy: Very polite and well mannered. The day we sailed he brought his 7 year old daughter along as mate and performed her her duties with real professionalism.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2015 via mobile

Captain Daniel & First Mate Raya (Daniel's seven year old daughter) made sure our afternoon sail was excellent. They were both very friendly and knowledgable. The Bufflehead was well stocked with everything we needed (glasses, napkins, corkscrew) to make sure we had the best time possible. Daniel pointed out many interesting landmarks and kept the boat sailing smoothly. Raya would jump in eagerly to help the Captain. The next time we are in Rockland, we are definitely going out on the Bufflehead again! Thanks so much, Daniel & Raya!!!

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank bacotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2015

Captain Daniel made the sailing trip on the beautiful Bufflehead amazing! He knew so much about the area and sailing. He had awesome stories to tell that left us laughing, impressed and shocked. We went on a perfect breezy but sunny day! We would absolutely recommend sailing with Daniel and would love to go back ourselves!

Date of experience: June 2015
1  Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bufflehead Sailing Charters also viewed

 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Bufflehead Sailing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing