We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic day on the water”

Bufflehead Sailing Charters
Ranked #1 of 20 Tours in Rockland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bufflehead is a 32 foot wooden gaff sloop, a classic boat, built in 1964. She is a very pretty boat, superbly swift, comfortable and safe. Captain Daniel Bennett sailed around the Pacific Ocean on a tall ship, and twice across the Atlantic (and back and forth to the Caribbean) on his own small boat.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

5 friends and I sailed with Captain Dan on the Bufflehead for a half day sail and a picnic lunch on Monroe island. We had a fantastic time! Captain Dan is fascinating and entertaining- between his personal stories on the sea and his knowledge sailing and the area, we were constantly learning and laughing. This is an authentic, not to be missed, once in a lifetime experience. We are so glad that we started our vacation on the Bufflehead. The only downside is that after that, nothing else quite compared to our sea adventure with Captain Dan (and that includes sea kayaking, rock climbing, plenty of hiking, and a cruise on a larger sail boat). He is a great guy, and we feel like we made a lifetime friend.

My best advice- book a long tour. An hour or two is great, but to get the full experience you really need longer. The experience is well worth it.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain daniel"
in 53 reviews
"hour sail"
in 11 reviews
"great captain"
in 10 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 7 reviews
"setting sun"
in 3 reviews
"great stories"
in 4 reviews
"wonderful afternoon"
in 4 reviews
"smaller boat"
in 2 reviews
"short hike"
in 2 reviews
"an amazing host"
in 2 reviews
"lobster lunch"
in 2 reviews
"homemade potato salad"
in 2 reviews
"maine coast"
in 10 reviews
"longer trip"
in 2 reviews
"from texas"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful boat"
in 6 reviews
"his guitar"
in 2 reviews
Filter

103 - 107 of 141 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2014

While planning a trip to Maine, I knew I wanted to go on a sailboat. After some searching, I came across Captain Daniel and Bufflehead Sailing Charters. It is a wonderful operation! He and I e-mailed back and forth briefly about what would work out best for my wife, my parents, and me. We settled on an evening, ~5hr sail, private sail. We were all so glad that we did this! A few of us weere worried about sea sickness, but we shouldn't have been concerned at all. It was amazingly smooth. The conversation was excellent and to hear about some of Captain Daniel's adventures, just amazing.

As for the trip, we had enough time to go around one of the islands, Monroe Island, I believe. It's a private island, and to be able to see the Maine coast from the vantage point of a small boat was great. We could really get up close and really look at it. There were some wonderful picture opportunities of a couple of the lighthouses (Owl's Head, and Rockland Breakwater). Having been at both of those during the day looking out at the sea, it was really cool to be in the water looking back at them. We also sailed around for a little while just seeing some of the other boats in the area. Even the trip back in was wonderful. We could slowly come back in under sail and make our way through the harbor. The highlight was when we went by the Coast Guard station and the USCGC Eagle was in port and we could get up close to it.

It all ended up being about 4 and a half hours and, as soon as we got off, we knew we had found the highlight of the vacation.

One word of caution, depending on the angle you come from, it may not be obvious as to whether you are headed in the correct direction. If coming in from Main Street, yes, go up the stairs. I trusted the map and directions provided by Captain Daniel, and it was all good.

Definitely something that everyone should try!

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Captain Daniel Bennett is more than "just" a sailor; he is one part historian, one part sailing teacher, one part gentleman, and five parts entertainer!!!! As we toured Rockland and the waters and islands beyond, we enjoyed the presence of another couple and Daniel's close attention to every detail, from making sure we were warm as the sun set to the continual adjustments to his navigational plan. Bufflehead Sailing Charters is the only one of its kind in the Rockland area and Daniel is a one-of-a-kind person. Thank you Daniel for providing the wonderful views and perspectives of the middle Maine coast! R&J McC

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Reid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Captain Daniel is professional and very warm. He has sailing in his blood. We were out for four hours with him among the tall ships parade off of Rockland Harbor. We had great weather and being on the water was great. If you want a personal taste of sailing in Maine the Buflehead is the way to go. His stories and humor were great! We will go again we loved sailing with Captain Daniel!

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank cmpqse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2014

A most do if you are near Rockland you will not be disappointed. My husband and I booked a private 4 hour sail with Captain Daniel for our anniversary. We started sailing through out Rockland Harbor, we were truly impressed with Captain Dan's ability to maneuver so closely around the other boats all under sail without the use of a motor. Seeing Rockland and it's surrounding islands from the quiet tranquility of wind and water, being away from the bustling tourist is the most calming yet exhilarating experience. Beside seeing porpoises, a family of bald eagles, ospreys hunting for fish to feed their young, and harbor seals, "moose" (not really), shooting the cannon, the real treasure was spending this time with Captain Dan is like sailing with your best friend we had many laughs. He has many amazing sailing adventure stories, and one of my favorite being the story of when he baby sat a baby whale. His love of sailing and being with you as well as his love of Rockland and his own family will have you telling stories of your own. Next time we'll bring the whole family. Til we meet again Captain Daniel be well. Thank you, Cheers. Kristen & Dave.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank SeeLife71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bufflehead Sailing Charters also viewed

 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Bufflehead Sailing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing