We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!”

Bufflehead Sailing Charters
Ranked #2 of 14 Tours in Rockland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bufflehead is a 32 foot wooden gaff sloop, a classic boat, built in 1964. She is a very pretty boat, superbly swift, comfortable and safe. Captain Daniel Bennett sailed around the Pacific Ocean on a tall ship, and twice across the Atlantic (and back and forth to the Caribbean) on his own small boat.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Booked the trip at the last minute and tagged along with two other couples. So much fun. Daniel is very friendly and welcoming. His stories are the best. All-around great time!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank knsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“posh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Daniel knocked our socks off! Words can not do justice to his hospitality and knowledge. It was a very nonintimidating environment for first timers. Our group of 4 left feeling lucky to have found him and yearning for a return trip.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kmc897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to get back on the water!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great sail, beautiful boat, wonderful spirited sailor! Felt like we all had known each other forever. Even the gray weather couldn't get us down. Could've easily made a whole day of it, but even a few hours was really delightful. As a first timer, I was kind of nervous, but that didn't last long! Hoping to head out one more time before the weather turns!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank eamarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful afternoon of sailing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Daniel was very capable of handling his sailboat. We had very windy conditions and it was amazing to watch him handle the boat. We took a three hour tour around the bay. We peppered him with questions about the area, bay, and sailing, and he cheerfully answered them. We were three generations of women who were first time sailors and we would go again in a heartbeat!! Thank you Captain Daniel for a wonderful afternoon of sailing!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KaitlinMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendship, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome afternoon of sailing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Despite having to search a little for wind, we had an awesome sail. Captain Dan is knowledgeable and personable and the Bufflehead is a beautiful craft. We took a four hour trip in the afternoon with my husband and two children. The views in all directions are spectacular, and Dan is great company. He'll let you take the helm, teach you knots, or work the sail... or just let you hang out on deck and enjoy the sun and sea breeze. The rates are reasonable, the atmosphere relaxed. We'll be doing this again. Soon. You should too. A don't miss. (Note: doesn't accept credit cards yet, so bring cash or check.)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dragusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bufflehead Sailing Charters also viewed

 

Been to Bufflehead Sailing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing