We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bufflehead Sailing Charters
Open today: 8:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Nice to deal with

A prospect of stormy weather required us to cancel our evening sail. Daniel was most understanding... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
thecinks1
Great time sailing!

My family of 5 booked a charter with captain Dan in August 2020. He took precautions to ensure we... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Jessica O
via mobile
Read all 157 reviews
  
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
156
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
156
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain daniel his knowledge island picnic hour cruise great morning nice trip mid coast weather was perfect bennett stories sail boats monroe maine wind witness wealth
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 157 of 157 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I came to the Penobscot Bay area for the world class sailing. We found just that with Captain Daniel Bennett the skipper of the Bufflehead. We asked him for a 4 hour sail and he gave us all that and more for a very reasonable price. Daniel is a very engaging and knowledgable Captain with many years experience. His boat is safe, sound, and fast. It was a fabulous day sailing and he did everything to make our trip every thing we could have possibly hoped to have. Coming to the Camden/Rockland area you will find many day sail companies. We sailed a few of them and found them all a very "canned" experience. Fun yes, but most all just go out the harbor and tack back and forth for 2 hours never leaving sight of the port. If you want the real deal this Captain and his sturdy boat will work hard to make your day sail dream come true! Where others companies say, 'this is what you get". Daniel says, "what do you want?"

Date of experience: July 2012
2  Thank BilP418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Bufflehead provided a lovely view of Camden's Fifth of July Fireworks, as well as a personal tour of the schooners sleeping in the harbor. Daniel knew every place that his guests pointed at, to which he shared as much or as little as we wanted to know, all in good humor and high spirit. The boat comfortably seated all 6 guests, and my oh my what a lovely head! We were even greeted by a fullish moon rise over the water. A magical evening indeed!

Date of experience: July 2012
1  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

When friends came up to visit we all wanted to go sailing. So through some friends I found Daniel and Bufflehead Sailing Charters. We booked for a Sunday but as you know weather can change on a dime and it did. But so did Daniel. He was able to accommodate us on Friday and what a GORGEOUS day it was! We enjoyed a full day sail off the beautiful Maine coast, a little hiking on a nearby island and lunch! Daniel was a knowledgeable and friendly host. It was like sailing with a friend! It was a day we won't soon forget. Sailing off the coast of Maine is a wonderful way to see this beautiful area and we definitely will do this again.

Date of experience: June 2012
3  Thank pams877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.