We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Set sail and say "Good-Bye" to stress!”

Schooner Stephen Taber Day Cruises
Ranked #1 of 15 Tours in Rockland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Driven only by Atlantic Ocean breezes, the Stephen Taber sets sail from Rockland Harbor, taking guests on four and six day windjammer sailing adventures on the legendary Maine coast. The Schooner Stephen Taber is the oldest sailing vessel in continuous service in the United States, and a National Historic Landmark.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Set sail and say "Good-Bye" to stress!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was our second Wind Jammer trip but the first on the Stephen Taber. We have already started planning our next trip. Captain Noah and his crew are absolutely amazing and gracious at every turn. We fell in love with them the minute we stepped aboard!

It is so refreshing in today's world of large corporations running everything to have the owner be at the helm of your sailing vacation! We joined the Stephen Taber for the 4-day Fall Wine and Chocolate cruise. We were lucky to have fabulous weather and the Captain made sure he took us to some beautiful anchorages for amazing sunrises and sunsets after a day of sailing. To say they were "stunning" does not accurately describe their beauty!

Chef Scott was beyond amazing. I can't even begin to describe all the delicious food. Think of the best meal you have ever had and times that by 100. Snacks, appetizers, soups, entrees, breads all handmade in the ships galley on a pot-belly wood stove! Fabulous!

This will be a "do-over" for us for years to come!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SpotN8TGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
“6 Day Cruise -Northern Family”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

First time on such a cruise for us - really wonderful experience. The coast of Maine was beautiful in September (and probably any time of year), the crew were great (fun and helpful), the ship is wonderful, and the food and wine were stunning. If you are a bit adventurous and if you enjoy gourmet cooking, great company on a beautiful ship you will not regret enjoying the experience on the Taber. The meals were beyond anything that we've ever experienced - gourmet breakfasts, homemade soups & salads for lunch, and multicourse delicious dinners all done on a wood-burning stove/oven. We enjoyed helping raise the sails and anchor, the daily walks on islands and at small ports, the lobster bake, and the visit to the woodenboat festival.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sail away from everyday life ... relax, enjoy the gorgeous sites and amazing food ...”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This is our third time aboard the Taber in 3 summers. This time our sail was a 4 day wine and cheese specialty cruise. Each trip the Cap and crew outdo themselves-private island lobster bake - a wedding renewal of vows - amazing wines from Spain, France and the world - cheeses that made you want to run to the cheese shop the moment you docked, just to buy and share at home!

How do you top this trip? Charter the Taber for our next trip - looking forward to Summer 2014!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MowerFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I just spent four nights aboard the Stephen Taber and are raving about it to all of our friends. The ship is absolutely beautiful and kept in pristine condition. The food is AMAZING! The fact that Chef Anna can create gourmet meals on a wood burning stove is unbelievable. Frittatas, homemade muffins, bacon, and wonderful coffee for breakfast; homemade soups, salad and breads for lunches; and braised pork, risotto, and key lime piefor dinner- this is just a small sample! Wonderful wine and cheese and appetizers each night as well. The lobster bake on our private beach was a blast. One of the guests said he couldn't button any of his shorts by the end of the trip- lol! The crew and Capt. Noah are just outstanding- friendly, professional, and helpful in teaching you how to raise the sails and anchors (if you want to have a hands on experience- which my husband did). The Capt. even performed a last minute vow renewal ceremony for 3 of us couples that were celebrating our anniversary. Lots of laughs, amazing scenery, interesting ports, new friends. The only drawback (if you can call it that) is the very very tiny bunkrooms, keep in mind the ship was built in 1871- you are really only there to sleep and if you are too cramped you can sleep on deck under the stars. This is a don't miss trip, we would go again in a heartbeat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank brightonmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Great Food and a Wonderful Crew”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My family did a a four night sail this summer and had a terrific time. Captain Noah and his crew made everyone feel at home and provided plenty of opportunities for passengers who wanted to help raise the sails.

We were fortunate that all the passengers were friendly and would spend the nights laughing, drinking, and participating in group sing alongs.

Best of all, from a small galley with a wood burning stove would emerge the most amazing food. I'm vegan and was concerned about being stuck on a ship for days with little to eat. I had absolutely nothing to worry about. Despite the fact that Anna the chef was turning out multiple dish dinners for over twenty people she still managed to prepare similar vegan meals for me alone that were delicious. Everyone was over the moon about the food and I was especially happy to have one delicious vegan meal after another.

I highly recommend having this experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooner Stephen Taber Day Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Schooner Stephen Taber Day Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing