We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, ordinary food...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Archer's on the Pier

Archer's on the Pier
Ranked #9 of 86 Restaurants in Rockland
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Shore of Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, ordinary food...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

A few years ago, this was a different restaurant, both the name of the place & the owners. Sadly, the change was not for the better. The view remains spectacular but the food was disappointing, tasteless & not attractively plated. While our server was pleasant & efficient, the dishes she served were mediocre at best.

Perhaps this place would be good for a sunset cocktail before you head elsewhere for a more satisfying dinner...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ART-N-DUX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    154
    84
    52
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
235 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very average restaurant on Rockland Harbor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were not overly impressed with the food and/or the restaurant itself. Service was excellent however which made up for some of the shortcomings. Felt that entrees were overpriced as were the drinks. Not a locals spot but a nice location for a view of the harbor

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IP3806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“unfortunate experience.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The atmosphere and service was fine. My friend and I received recommendation from the desk clerk at the hotel. I ordered the Seafood Pie and it was ok but unfortunately, I got food poisoning! I have not been this sick for a very long time. The worst part is that I was only half way through my vacation. What a bummer! I went there on Monday, 9/23, and I am still not 100%.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank yatkin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Phenomenal steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Their Signature Steak is a beef tenderloin that was out of this world! In fact, all the meals were excellent. They arrived in timely fashion, were hot, looked appealing and smelled great. Very pleasant dining experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patstas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Texoma
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Didn't see any locals”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Cab driver recommeded this place - his family must have owned it. Told us it was where the locals go - not so. Locals don't go for overpriced ok food and drink. Quite surprised to walk out with a bill of $88 for a couple of drinks, a caesar salad and lobster. OK it was our first night in Maine, but last year the drinks were cheaper and bigger and the lobster was cheaper and bigger. If it hadn't been raining, maybe the scenery would have overwhelmed us, but it was and it didn't.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Gail U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archer's on the Pier also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Archer's on the Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing