We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unfortunate experience.....”

Archer's on the Pier
Ranked #8 of 87 Restaurants in Rockland
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“unfortunate experience.....”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The atmosphere and service was fine. My friend and I received recommendation from the desk clerk at the hotel. I ordered the Seafood Pie and it was ok but unfortunately, I got food poisoning! I have not been this sick for a very long time. The worst part is that I was only half way through my vacation. What a bummer! I went there on Monday, 9/23, and I am still not 100%.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank yatkin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    162
    84
    53
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Phenomenal steak”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Their Signature Steak is a beef tenderloin that was out of this world! In fact, all the meals were excellent. They arrived in timely fashion, were hot, looked appealing and smelled great. Very pleasant dining experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patstas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Texoma
Level Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Didn't see any locals”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Cab driver recommeded this place - his family must have owned it. Told us it was where the locals go - not so. Locals don't go for overpriced ok food and drink. Quite surprised to walk out with a bill of $88 for a couple of drinks, a caesar salad and lobster. OK it was our first night in Maine, but last year the drinks were cheaper and bigger and the lobster was cheaper and bigger. If it hadn't been raining, maybe the scenery would have overwhelmed us, but it was and it didn't.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Gail U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
472 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Lunch on the Pier”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We ate lunch, outside on the pier, at Archer's one perfect Fall day. Food was excellent (we both had the haddock sandwich ... one of the best I've had ... spring the extra $2.50 for the sweet potato fries), and the view is amazing. I could have sat there all day drinking iced tea!

If you're there on a nice day, have lunch outside (there was a choice of sun or shade the day we were there), and enjoy the view.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MassCouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food, waterside location”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had lunch on Thursday. We were able to sit outside in a shady spot overlooking the pier with views out to the harbor and Rockland breakwater Lighthouse. Service was very spotty, though the server recognized this and apologized. The food was fabulous. We shared steamers and a crab quesadilla. We both thought the steamers were best we had ever enjoyed. The crab was very tasty and came with salsa and greens. We chose cole slaw as a side instead of rice and it also was very good. Beers are a great value here with all $4.00, including premium brands such as Sam Adams on draft. Otherwise, not inexpensive. Bill including 1 beer, tax and 15% tip was $46, but worth it for the quality food and scenery.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mapville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archer's on the Pier also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Archer's on the Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing