We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View, great service and food!”

Archer's on the Pier
Ranked #8 of 87 Restaurants in Rockland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Gainesville, Florida, United States
1 review
“View, great service and food!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is my second experience at Archer's and I am soon going to make it a third. From the moment they welcome you at the door until you say goodbye you are treated like aVIP. I love a good steak cooked "rare-cool and red on the inside" and they did it to prefection and topped it off w a fresh herb sauce delicate enough to enhance but not overpower the meat. Their martinis are large and made w the best ingredients. I highly recommend the lemon drop made w limoncello. No desserts because after the bread, salad, main course there just wasn't any room.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    167
    88
    53
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
605 reviews
389 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Go For the Drinks”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I ate here (drank mostly) on two consecutive nights recently. The main reason for returning was the huge drinks. She had a martini and I had a Manhattan. They were both delicious and one was enough. As for food, we didn't eat much as we were there pre-dinner. I did get talked into the haddock bites, which were pretty yummy. As for service, the help are young and in general pretty cheerful, if not always professional. Finally, the view is simply awesome, unless it's foggy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank abecedarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice views, decent food”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stopped here for a late lunch and truly enjoyed the view. Other places in the area were either closed until dinner time or very tacky looking. Archer's is in a very pleasant setting on the harbor and the ambiance was nice. The food and drinks were decent, and the service was quick.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathylsails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton,MD
Level Contributor
146 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nope....”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Rainy day in Maine, so we had to sit indoors. Very reaction: a very noisy place. Nice bar with a friendly, attentive barkeep. Good selection of beers. Seated after 15-20 minutes. No big deal given it was Labor Day weekend. Service was, at best, indifferent. With the exception of the calamari - best part of our meal - the food was lousy. The chowder had plenty of potatoes and clams, but lacked flavor and seasoning. Boring and mediocre stuff. The crabcakes were awful. While my Maine friends insist their crabs are better than Maryland blue crabs, this didn't help their case. No crab flavor at all. Coconut shrimp could have been good, but were overcooked. No reason to return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackdoghill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great oysters”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had lunch with a friend. I had the chowder & lobster roll, both were very good. My friend had the oysters and crab cakes, she liked both of them. Great drinks, a wonderful outside bar, plus there is dining outside on the deck. The view is wonderful. The whole harbor is right in front of you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johno1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archer's on the Pier also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Archer's on the Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing