We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice store poor service”

Good Tern Natural Foods Co-op and Cafe
Ranked #43 of 89 Restaurants in Rockland
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch
Racine, Wisconsin, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice store poor service”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stopped in and wanted to purchase something from the cafe. Several employees ignored us for an unreasonable period of time so we moved on down the road for sandwiches. Looked like a lovely co op with good produce and specialty items, but I have never been in such an unfriendly one. Usually co ops are friendly and fantastic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueBlinds, General Manager at Good Tern Natural Foods Co-op and Cafe, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We are so very sorry for your poor experience. Good Tern Co-op has been at it since 1980, serving up great food and offering a quality selection of local and organic food products. We have seen a sharp trend toward growth over the past two years and are doing our best to meet up with demand. We aapologize for our lack of attentiveness. We are in the midst of a store reset and hope to improve each department of the store. The cafe is one of the areas we would like to focus on. As it is now we do not offer items to order. Everything is pre-made and self-serve either in the to-go cooler or on the counter. The least we could have done is acknowledged you, welcomed you, and helped you find what you needed. We be been told we are one of the area's most friendly and community-oriented co-op's around. Sorry we didn't live up to that reputation with you. Please come again and we will do our best to make it up to you.
Sincerely,
Good Tern Co-op General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Healthy and good”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I drop in here every time I don't have time to pack my lunch for work. Wonderful organic produce, and always something good and healthy for lunch at a reasonable price. Not a huge selection, but easy to find gluten free, vegan or vegetarian.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank camdenrockportfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Try the Walnut Burger”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Drop in for lunch. You can have organic soups and sandwiches which are always pleasing.

The store offers the best selection of organic produce in Rockland. bulk oils, honey and peanut butter, bring your own containers to save $.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great local market, for healthy supplies and locavores.”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

With a simple kitchen and well-stocked shelves with fresh produce, most from local farms, and staples and delights, The Good Tern can meet just about any needs, and provide a good cup of soup, in an atmosphere of health (good-sense health, without intimidation). A great resource, even if you usually shop at the supermarket.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank neirret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centereach, New York, USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for healthy options!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Nice to find an excellent store offering organic options, gluten free, dairy free etc. If you are traveling and need to pick up some staples for peoplepin a special diet this is the place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newlifechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good Tern Natural Foods Co-op and Cafe also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Good Tern Natural Foods Co-op and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing