We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude servers”
Review of China Coast

China Coast
Ranked #45 of 87 Restaurants in Rockland
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: Review on Yahoo: http://travel.yahoo.com/p-travelguide-10454634R
Restaurant details
Description: Review on Yahoo: http://travel.yahoo.com/p-travelguide-10454634R
St.George, ME
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude servers”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We have been eating at China Coast for years and have always enjoyed it there. But for some reason this year there has been a change, There are more male waiters then before and they are young super rude buys. They make rude jokes. The last time we had dinner I had to get up and get my own silverware and napkins because they never brought any to the table. We asked for water and hot tea. The water never came. And even the quality of food has gotten worse. Seems like they just don't care about good food and service anymore- We have started eating at the Roselyn Thai restaurant and it's beautiful inside and the food is great!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    15
    9
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Greasy and unfriendly”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Horrid buffet. Crowded because it is all you can eat. Doughnuts, deepfried crabcakes and anything else you can fry including veggies. Good thing the hospital is down the road. The staff is rude and just grunt at you. I wonder if immigration has checked this place out. Many employees speak little to no English. Horrid General Taos. The chicken floats in grease. The fried rice coats your tongue. We noticed they are voted best Chinese restaurant year after year in the local paper. I was told they are the only entry. Eat here if you don't care about your health.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AR C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Only choice in around”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Take out .. ordered Egg Foo Yong came with no gravy, egg rolls greasy. Not realy impressed

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sno-man3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kennebunk, maine
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“pretty good”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

food was decent the service was good. Did not expect it since it was also a buffet

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank franniemannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldoboro
Level Contributor
269 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Decent fresh Chinese food”
Reviewed July 8, 2010

This "Chinese" food is far above most of the so called Chinese restaurants in the Mid Coast area. I suggest the lunch buffet. The food is always warm and the vegetables are fresh and cooked properly. The buffet has a decent selection and I have found the food to be very tasteful, like the generals chicken which is "right on" for flavor and tenderness. Located in the Shaws plaza, give them a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rardogrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Coast also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockport, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to China Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing