We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best bar”

Waterworks Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 86 Restaurants in Rockland
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Popular restaurant and pub located in old water company building. Great bar
Spruce Head, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best bar”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Best drinks in town. fun food, great staff. Perfect Burgers. Nice to go in on a Sunday and have a few games on. Thank you Mr. Ray

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Benner74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    56
    16
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“so many places are better”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

There are so many places that are better in Rockland, that this should be far down on your list. The atmosphere, location, and food are nothing special (no view, tucked away on a side street, 1 noisy room & 1 "I'm in Siberia" room). We were isolated in the "Siberia" room, where the few patrons get spotty service and cold food. The highlight was that the beer was good & cold. The appetizer of fried mushrooms arrived at room temperature, as if they sat under the lamps for 10 minutes. There is no way to ruin a tuna on salad greens, so that was safe. But the prime rib was amazingly tough. It also came after a stint under the lamps, which failed to keep it warm.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveMyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fryeburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Pub Style Restaurant”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Had dinner at the bar while in town for a conference recently. Good atmosphere and service despite a busy evening with a large group in the adjacent function room. A friend recommended anything on the specials list, so I went with the Tiger Shrimp Linguini with a creamy pesto sauce. Very tasty and filling. Very reasonable prices, good conversation with the waitress and one of the local regulars. I highly recommend it for value, good food and welcoming atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nsf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Gloucester, Maine
Level Contributor
113 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fun and Filling”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Ate here last month, two couples, early evening, sat outside on their deck and thoroughy enjoyed ourselves. A nice mix of couples and families, music and a very attentive wait staff. I had fish and chips while my wife had chicken parmesan. Beer was cold and the food very good and priced reasonably. We all had boxes of left overs to go, even though we arrived hungry having just spent the entire day at the Owl's Head Museum, for their pre auction car inspection of antique cars.
We have eaten at the WaterWorks before, thought enough of it to return, and definitely will be back given our latest experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sabbathday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South China, Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch with family!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had lunch at the Waterworks yesterday with our two children and we all had a wonderful meal accompanied with great service. Thankfully the weather was beautiful and we were able to sit outside on the deck while we enjoyed our lunch. I have to personally recommend the chicken cobb salad - it's absolutely delicious, filling, and BIG! I was able to try a cranberry pear balsamic dressing from Fiore oils (also in Rockland) which was deliciously sweet and light.
The rest of my party enjoyed their meals and we left feeling full and well taken care of. Waterworks has always been one of our families favorite places to eat as their menu offers a wide variety of savory dishes as well as pub food so no matter what time of day there's always something you'll want to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HollieK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterworks Restaurant also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Waterworks Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing