We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous breakfast spot”
Review of Home Kitchen Cafe

Home Kitchen Cafe
Ranked #1 of 87 Restaurants in Rockland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Now ALSO open for Dinner Wed - Sat 5-9pm
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
283 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Fabulous breakfast spot”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We had to wait 40 minutes for our table but enjoyed our hearty breakfast, included the delectable cinnamon roll and pecan bun (I think they call in a "sinnie"). The wait could have been managed better in terms of sequencing tables, but our waitress was terrific and the breakfast fare was very tasty.

Highly recommend for a great breakfast.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ReillyPas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    143
    47
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Large Portions and Variety”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

The staff as very welcoming. I had the garden omelet. It was filled with flavor and huge! My husband had the tex-mex inspired dish with eggs and black beans... I can't remember the name of it ... It was good but more of a brunch thing. It was a little heavy for early breakfast. :)

Helpful?
Thank ATasteoftheLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We enjoyed this little restaurant so much that we had breakfast there more than once on our trip. Wide variety on menu. You much try the Cinnies and the Sticky rolls. My husband loved the corned beef hash breakfast. The waitresses were so nice and we met the owner's wife who was so pleasant. I will not skip Home Kitchen Café if I get back to Maine. I would like to move this restaurant home with me. Home fries were delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyDolph40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
224 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lots to Choose From”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

A very extensive breakfast and lunch menu are the hallmarks of the Home Kitchen Café. Serving sizes are generous enough so that we automatically knew half of our sandwiches were going to be coming home with us. Our Reuben and pastrami sandwiches were great. Hopefully, the next time we can try their breakfast menu. The place can get busy as it is right on Route One just north of town. The dining room is supplemented by deck seating which has a nice view of the Rockland harbor.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drivingmissmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampden, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great lunch”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

My wife and I stopped in the cafe on our way through Rockland and the lunch was terrific. I had a BLT on homemade toast and the best homefries I've ever eaten. The bacon (not your normal store brand) thick and crispy was generously heaped on the wheat toast. The homefries were real sliced potatoes with onion, three kinds of peppers and the taters (nice and crispy) fried in I think olive oil. Kudos to the cooking staff...they know how to cook! Prices were reasonable and the waitress attentive and nice. Try this little restaurant out, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Kitchen Cafe also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Home Kitchen Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing