We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the hype. This place is outstanding!!!”
Review of Home Kitchen Cafe

Home Kitchen Cafe
Ranked #1 of 89 Restaurants in Rockland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Now ALSO open for Dinner Wed - Sat 5-9pm
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Believe the hype. This place is outstanding!!!”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

It was very busy when we got here and even got the last parking spot. Come a little after 10am if you can, but before lunch for sure. You can get breakfast or lunch all day if I understood correctly. We opted for lunch and Tracy was our server. She was very busy but also very kind. I would ask for her by name if given the option as she was very nice.

I has a sausage cheese omelette with Rye bread and home fries. My partner in crime had the eggs Benedict. Both were outstanding although the benny was on toast not English muffin. Honestly we have had some amazing breakfasts in the past but this was right up there with, or even surpassing the others.

To go we got a sticky bun w/pecans and a regular one for my mom and stepfather and we sampled them after we got "home". WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The Pecan bun was probably the best pastry I have ever had...it should come w/a defib but no problem...I would happily die for this thing. Yes it's that good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank troy mcclure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    151
    47
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnville, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Lived in the area for three years and finally followed the suggestion of the locals to try this place out. Great egg dishes, super good coffee and oh my the cinnamon roll. Super friendly crew!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sidewalksend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Trusted Tripadvisor”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Since we would be staying at the Samoset Resort for a week I toured restaurants in the area in tripadvisor. It proved to be a good source of information on the area and restaurants. We had breakfast here, it was delicious and worthwhile. The prices were fair for a resort area. The staff was friendly and inviting. Since we plan to visit this area again we will be sure to return to the Home Kitchen Cafe for another meal or two.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cruiszr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, good view”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had a Saturday lunch with our family. There's a great choice of food on the menu, and the service was excellent. We would eat here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidW99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Breakfast.”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

With so many wonderful items on the menu I had to order a two extra sides as I could not make up my mind what to get. ALL GOOD

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank momoqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Kitchen Cafe also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Home Kitchen Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing