We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome food and huge portions!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Home Kitchen Cafe

Home Kitchen Cafe
Ranked #1 of 86 Restaurants in Rockland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Now ALSO open for Dinner Wed - Sat 5-9pm
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome food and huge portions!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Everything was great here. Just remember to come hungry! Excellent service and food! Seems to be a real favorite of the locals!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    140
    42
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wantage, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I found this place through Trip Advisor. We were visiting the area for the second year and decided to search for a new place to eat breakfast. WOW! My husband had the Farmer's Omelet and I had the Irish Bennie (Eggs Benedict). The Home Kitchen Café offers several versions the Bennies. The Irish option consisted of homemade hash, two PERFECTLY poached eggs served over polenta (although you have the choice of homemade toast instead)- all covered with the best hollandaise sauce I have ever tasted!! The food was fresh, not laden with heavy fats or grease, just purely delish! We went back a few times and left feeling super satisfied each time. The menu has many traditional choices, but with a modern twist. Very original. Friendly staff, too. Also, very little waiting, we had our food within 10 minutes each time. Must go back next year to try the Lobster Taco!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Gloucester, Maine
Level Contributor
113 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Eggs all the time”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Sometimes eggs are just right for lunch or even dinner. When I find a place that's willing to serve them other than just for breakfast it's noteworthy. I went in for dinner, sat at the counter, opened the menu and there they were. I ordered the farmers omelet that had bacon, ham, onion, peppers, cheese, and yes, home fries, inside. They also make their own homemade bread here. The omelet was great, staff friendly, music relaxing and I look forward to returning in the future. Besides the downstairs it has an upper dining outside area, which looks like it would be very nice given the right weather.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabbathday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gordon Ramsey........Eat your heart out!,”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Every year for the last dozen years or so, my wife and I head up to Rockland, ME. We have eaten at all the places around this area. This week I ordered the Backyard Burger at this neat little place. When I took the first bite I Could not believe how awesome it was. Up until now I would have said that the L&H Burger place in town was the best........BUT.......this burger was the best I have ever had.....and I am a ole guy!!
Sooooooo Gordon Ramsey...eat your heart out. James the chef here makes THE best burger around,,,

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank judyG702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I live in Rockland and have eaten here several times... Each time I have left dissatisfied. No homefries served with omelets or breakfast sandwiches...you have to pay an additional $1.50. The plate comes looking bare of food. The carne breakfast sandwich is usually what I like for breakfast but once again when it was served to me the yolk of the egg was crack and runny all over the place. It should have been an over hard egg. For lunch one day I had a sandwich...I asked for no tomatoes and what did my sandwich come with...tomatoes. Also, there are no French fries at this restaurant.......weird. I would have liked fries with my club. One more thing- not being greeted upon walking through the door left us feeling unwelcome. However a couple of times we have eaten there before the renovation the food was delicious as expected

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank htebazileh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Kitchen Cafe also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Home Kitchen Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing