We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Rockland
Post
Inbox
Search
Review Highlights
Labor Day Cruise on The Victoru Chimes.

Great trip, wonderful crew, got to see a lot of the Maine coast I had never seen before, The food... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Greg S
,
Fairfax County, Virginia
Sailing excellence

Because she was built big & boxy, to haul cargo, Victory Chimes is very roomy, comfortable and... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
rroader1
Read all 37 reviews
  
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
34
2
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
34
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain sam comfortable accommodations singer songwriter day cruise before dinner hard working crew rare treat wooden ship monhegan island boat school maine coast relaxing trip five days pancakes penobscot bay sleeping quarters sailing vessel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 37 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2019

Just got back from a 4-day/3-night sailing trip on the schooner Victory Chimes. It was an incredible trip. For anyone interested in a unique adventure aboard a charming vessel, this is for you. You are in good hands with the captain and crew. The culinary crew is very talented too ... delicious food. Everyday we anxiously awaited the dinner bell to see what was in store for us and each time the chef outdid himself. Dessert on deck in the evening and music with Nat Hussey was the perfect way to end each day. And, with all that fresh sea air, we slept very sound. The experience is unforgettable, the friendships precious, and the adventure awe-inspiring. I recommend it to everyone!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank The_Moreau_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2019

Just got back for a four night cruise with some special friends. Highly recommend this getaway experiencing real offshore sailing ... most of the time, I didn't even realize we were moving on this 137 footer. This was themed cruise, which checked all my boxes, celtic music, meditation, massage and yoga, and awesome sailing. The crew and skipper were fantastic, very willing to share anything about the boat and running it. Food was exceptional and plentiful (like lobster? You'll love this ship!)

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank mikeattridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2019

We sailed on the Victory Chimes Sep 8-14...just after Hurricane Dorian passed into Nova Scotia. After a rainy Saturday and Sunday, our sailing Monday morning dawned clear. The week was one of wonderful fall (as in long pants and long sleeves most days) weather and the last full Harvest (big and orange over the water) moon falling on Friday the 13th for this century! We also participated in the Wooden Boat Sail-In at Brooklin, ME, home of the wooden ship building school. Most of the remain schooner fleet were on hand, and the townsfolk put on a great oyster bake accompanied by a 25+ piece steel drum orchestra! Capt Sam, Cara, First Mate Yoko, Sherman, Chef Miller, and all the wonderful crew provided a lifetime-of-memories experience. Not only are they a skilled, efficient, and thoughtful team, they provided a true look into the life of this great old lady. From history, navigation, and hoisting sail lessons, to scrumptious and plentiful food (this is my only experience having appetizers before EVERY meal, breakfast too!) the 6-day voyage was perfect. From lobster dinner to grits (Yes, y'all !) at breakfast, Chef Miller, and his kitchen crew--who helped out up on deck as well--catered to the diverse taste buds of some 30+ folk without skipping a beat. The BYOB cooler kept each person's favorite liquid refreshment at the ready. Capt Sam's map sessions, each day, gave us full appreciation for the area covered. Cara's musical skills, along with her musician guests, livened up each day. What great fun to watch/hear them serenading other schooners as we sailed past! Evening jam sessions were the perfect finish to the magnificent sunsets. My trip was topped off by the Roy and Kassie Hook, living in the light house at Hockamock Light. We exchanged photos, texted as Victory Chimes sailed past. I love having the photo of us underway, sent by new friends.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2019

Great weather, and wonderful working crew. Be advised to bring your own pillow, the ones on board are like pancakes. Food was good, however not plenty of it. Coffee on board early am which was nice. The wool blanets for the beds have seen better days, and the shower curtin really needed to be replaced. Boat has a lot of history.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank sghague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

Consider the Victory Chimes for a different kind of boating experience - a historic vessel (look on the Maine State quarter - there she is), delicious food eaten in the salt air, and poking around the Maine Coast where the wind takes you - she has no sailing motor.

We sailed in late August and had perfect weather - Captain Sam skillfully guided the large schooner into the tight Camden harbor for a stay during the Windjammer Festival.

Co -owner and chef for the week Cara provided hot coffee and tea and fresh pastries every morning to help us greet the day as we sailed out of whatever rock bound harbor we happened to find ourselves. There is a large cooler to store your beverage of choice. We had delicious appetizers before dinner - one night a large pan of mussels with cream and Pernod. Dinners were - for example - lobster or roasted chicken, a huge salad, a bread - wish I'd gotten the recipe for the Anadama rye rolls - and ship made dessert - such has huge, soft coconut macaroons or panna cotta with fruit.

Some of the best sleep ever is a result of lying on the comfortable bunk with the porthole open (some cabins have portholes others don't). Unless you have a state room be prepared to use a head located down the hall which is kept clean. This is a 119 year old vessel and she shows her age in a way that a new 5000 passenger cruise ship doesn't but that's not a problem for anyone wanting a taste of life on a historic coastal sailing vessel. We also had a Bach cello concert one evening by the light of the stars and kerosene lanterns provided by the guest musician, Ben Van Winkle.
The crew is friendly, skilled and work well together. This would be a great experience for a young sailor, experienced sailors or anyone wanting to remember how lovely water, rocks, wind and sea creatures can be. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Rubeinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews