We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of LimeRock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LimeRock Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Rockland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Guilford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Met our dear friends from Bar Harbor here for a birthday celebration. It was great!! Frank and Pj are very warm and welcoming. The common areas are very comfortable to just relax and talk.
The rooms were spotless and very well appointed with all the amenities.
Hopefully we will be returning !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    33
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
52
360
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Spotswood, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Frank & PJ are THE BEST. They are passionate and 1000% devoted to what they do - and what they do is make you feel like their best friend. We stayed at The LimeRock for 3 nights during the Maine Lobster Festival and can't wait to return. The Turret room was spacious, spotless (as was the entire property) and romantic. Breakfast each morning is prepared by Frank & served by both of them. No matter what your need, a restaurant tip or travel directions, they both were insightful and ready to share all of their knowledge. The backyard garden & Gazebo areas were beautiful and provide Frank with much of what he uses in his breakfast presentations. The Inn is only 2 blocks from downtown but seemed lightyears away from the hustle & bustle of Main St and the Lobster Festival. We have & will continue to recommend them to all of our friends & can't wait to return. I hope they enjoy their 'downtime' in Italy at the end of the year - they deserve it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonkacz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I found the Limerock "accidentally" while searching for an inn in the Rockland, ME area. What a pleasant surprise it turned out to be. The building is beautiful and the grounds are very well maintained. Frank and PJ are perfect hosts...so helpful and friendly. The food was excellent! We stayed in the Petit Manan room, it is their smallest room but my wife and I had no issues with it at all. I enjoyed my book and cigar in the peace and quiet of the gazebo...visited daily by a frendly gray cat. The Limerock is definitely a very high recommendation. We will be back!
Tony and Suzanne

Green Features: We love that the Limerock Inn is "green"...
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was our first visit to the LimeRock Inn and we can't wait to return! The house is beautiful inside and out. The landscaping front and back and great. The deck is clean and comfortable, perfect for sitting and relaxing. Inside the Inn is spotless with plenty of room in the common areas. The innkeepers are wonderful and very friendly - they do everything themselves! They helped with any planning and recommendations we needed. Our room was nice and everything was in good working order. It was hot when we stayed at the inn so the air conditioning and ceiling fan were nice to have. The breakfasts were delicious with just the right amount of food. They happily accommodated my dietary needs. The innkeepers do the cooking and serving which add a very nice personal touch. The inn is located with a few minutes walk from downtown and the waterfront. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poltalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our third visit in four years at the LimeRock, each year to participate in the Bicycle Coalition of Maine's annual Lobster Ride and Roll bicycle ride to support BCM. Frank and PJ have everything just right, making this among the best B and B's in the country, in my opinion. Breakfasts are terrific and are made "gluten friendly" when needed for those with gluten intolerance without making one feel you are missing out. Frank and PJ accomodated our early start time on the second day with an "early bird" breakfast; much appreciated. Beds are comforatble, rooms are immaculately clean, and Frank and PJ are truly part of the Rockland community and a rich source of information and recommendations. Among the best B and B's anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon Falls, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I live in Maine, but often stay in Rockland for events at the Farnsworth Museum. This is the second time I have stayed at the Limerock Inn, and I find it to be one of the most cozy, and beautiful places I have stayed. Each interior is unique, but stays with the overall theme of Victorian Maine Island rooms. The food is delicious, starting out with fresh fruit and either the inn's own special brew of coffee or tea. One morning the meal included orange ricotta pancakes as the entree, and another morning there was a lovely zucchini quiche. The garden is quite lovely and there is a little gray squirrel who likes to flit about the yard. PJ and Frank are wonderful to talk to and made a great effort to make every guest welcome and understand the lay of the land. I have stayed in many B&Bs across the country and this one is my favorite so far.

Green Features: I was very pleased to be in a hotel that is environmental forward in its' thinking.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed for 1 night at the LimeRock on our way up to Acadia NP. Frank and PJ were very gracious hosts and had good recommendations for things to do both on the way to and at the park. We were in the Garden Cottage room - the room was impeccably clean (very important to me!) and very comfortable. I really liked our own private entrance into the room as well as the view of the beautiful gardens. Breakfast was delicious, and carried us through until dinner. I would highly recommend LimeRock Inn for anyone looking for some R&R in the Rockland area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stimpy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockland
0.3 mi away
Rockland Harbor Hotel
Rockland Harbor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rockland
201 reviews
0.3 mi away
250 Main Hotel
250 Main Hotel
#2 of 3 in Rockland
115 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rockland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Island View Inn
Island View Inn
#5 of 10 in Rockport
321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Berry Manor Inn
Berry Manor Inn
#1 of 8 in Rockland
1,026 reviews
1.8 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LimeRock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LimeRock Inn

Property: LimeRock Inn
Address: 96 Limerock St, Rockland, ME 04841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Rockland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Rockland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — LimeRock Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockland's first bed & breakfast is tucked away on a quiet side street encircled by a wraparound porch and landscaped gardens. Step back in time to a world of relaxation in comfort and elegance in a beautiful coastal ME turreted Victorian mansion turned B&B. This exquisite example of Queen Anne architecture is reminiscent of the gracious lifestyle of a bygone era. But don’t worry, we offer the best of both worlds having packed in modern appointments like gourmet food, complimentary guest pantry, luxury bath & spa amenities, complimentary wifi, and more. That’s why readers of DownEast magazine chose LimeRock Inn as the “Best B&B in Maine” two years in a row! Come and experience it for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your LimeRock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
LimeRock Inn Rockland, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing