We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Save your $ and just go to the Olsen house”

Farnsworth Art Museum
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Rockland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Celebrating Maine's Role in American Art, the Farnsworth Art Museum offers a nationally recognized collection of works from many of America's greatest artists. With 20,000 square feet of gallery space and over 15,000 works in the collection, there is always something new on view at the Farnsworth. The museum has one of the largest collections of works by sculptor Louise Nevelson. Its Wyeth Center features works of Andrew, N.C. and Jamie Wyeth. The Farnsworth's library is also housed in its Rockland, ME, campus. Two historic buildings, the Farnsworth Homestead and the Olson House, and Julia's Gallery for Young Artists complete the museum complex.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Save your $ and just go to the Olsen house”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Olsen house is wonderful and the staff much nicer. I am a huge fan of NC and Andrew Wyeth and coupled a visit to the Brandywine in Chadds Ford, PA, with a visit to the Farnsworth with high expectations. I was met with rude, condescending staff and a limited collection of Wyeth works. The Olsen house on the other hand was hauntingly beautiful and inspiring and the staff, volunteers, appeared to really enjoy dealing with visitors.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Art4theAges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Communications Officer at Farnsworth Art Museum, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Art4theages,

I am truly sorry that you had an unpleasant experience at the Farnsworth. It is certainly not our habit to treat visitors in the manner you describe in your review, and we will obviously look into the matter as visitor experience is a tremendous priority for all of us here on staff. I am certainly pleased that your experience at the Olson House was a good one, and I hope you will give the museum a second chance in the future.

Please accept my apologies. If you have the time to email me some specifics about your experience so that we might do our best to improve, I would greatly appreciate it.

Sincerely,
David Troup
Communications Officer
Farnsworth Art Museum
dtroup@farnsworthmuseum.org
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    135
    26
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place, great collections”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Beautifully retrofit older building. The well-curated collections are great and very manageable. Perfect downtown location. A must do when in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank murraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not as exciting summer exhibits as in the past...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We always like to support this museum but would have preferred less contemporary art and more of traditional.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank hopegoodeNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nicely presented Art”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Worth a visit for sure when visiting the area, nice art and pretty building as well, you can do this visit in about one hour if you don't want to linger

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank arbreplage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal QC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Small but with enough variety to be very interesting. Great N.C. Wyeth exhibit. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank slquebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farnsworth Art Museum also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Farnsworth Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing