We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome! Best thing about Rockland.”

Farnsworth Art Museum
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Rockland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Celebrating Maine's Role in American Art, the Farnsworth Art Museum offers a nationally recognized collection of works from many of America's greatest artists. With 20,000 square feet of gallery space and over 15,000 works in the collection, there is always something new on view at the Farnsworth. The museum has one of the largest collections of works by sculptor Louise Nevelson. Its Wyeth Center features works of Andrew, N.C. and Jamie Wyeth. The Farnsworth's library is also housed in its Rockland, ME, campus. Two historic buildings, the Farnsworth Homestead and the Olson House, and Julia's Gallery for Young Artists complete the museum complex.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome! Best thing about Rockland.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

This is a first class art museum. It is in a beautiful building and is top notch all the way. Terrific exhibits, well presented. The Wyeth Center is a part of the Farnsworth and is a block away. Don't miss that either. It's worth a trip to Rockland just to see this museum.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    135
    26
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful art museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Andrew Wyeth (and the other Wyeths), local artists, and more. This is a wonderful, informative collection in a nice campus with helpful docents.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank TD_Cincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Never Enough Wyeth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

A trip to the Farnsworth is a must, especially if you are a Wyeth fan, as I am. I love the entire families work, but Andrew had always been my favorite. BTW if you are craving more, don't miss a trip to Chad Falls, the musuem and homestead are certainly worth the trip. Of course it isn't Maine, but worth it anyway.

Visited November 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank Zulinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Okay, we lucked out twice....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Not only did we pass through Rockland on a late Wednesday afternoon (and got free admission between 5-8pm), but my wife is a "Christina's World" freak (she has a print of it in our living room), and there was a temporary exhibition, ending 10/30/11, all about Christina's World (the original painting, however, is still in NY). We didn't get to the Olsen house, but enjoyed the entire museum during a 3 hour stay. Very nice museum, manageable size. Oh yeah, we did put a reasonable donation in their donation box as we left.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank satanhimself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Farnsworth Art Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

"The Farnsworth Art Museum offers an unparalleled opportunity to enjoy a comprehensive collection of American art related to Maine"it's very nice thing. And Farnsworth Art Museum is one of most attractive Art Museum in all Art Museum.
From Travel Adda:- http://www.traveladda.com/north_india/rajasthan/museums/archaeological_museum_udaipur.html

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew00921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farnsworth Art Museum also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Farnsworth Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing