We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bread”

Atlantic Baking Co.
Ranked #10 of 86 Restaurants in Rockland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: European Style Bakery and Cafe serving breakfast pastries including several types of house made croissants, baguettesm batards, artisan breads, soups, desserts, coffee, and other beverages
Fairfield CT
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great bread”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Never miss getting bread for our boat when sailing in Maine. Lunch is also a good choice. Interesting sandwiches.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Voyageronline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    71
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good place to sit leisurely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very good sandwiches, soups, in a more relaxed atmosphere than Starbucks, coffee was a disappointment . It's the coffee, not the way it was made

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank welshpembrokecorgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Be a Cookie Monster”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Have a pistachio apricot cookie. One sweet bite. Similar to but better than a lace cookie and that is saying something. Also had scones. Equally good. Did not have lunch but maybe wish I had based on cookie. Service friendly and good. Have ice coffee which is good in the heat. Also had their bread from grocery stores. Delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Yvonne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Bakery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Review is based on a loaf of sourdough bread, three different cookies and a homemade granola bar. All were superb, far better than what one expects at most bakeries. Based on this experience I recommend Atlantic Bakery highly for bakery products or lunch when in Rockland, ME

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Discriminating_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, CT, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A really poor lunch experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We (2) were visiting the Farnsworth Museum - which is just across the street - and stepped out to get some lunch. There must have been many better choices to eat - indeed we saw several after it was too late.

I don't know what they are like as a bakery but for lunch they were just terrible. The counter staff were unfriendly and unhelpful, the soup was a corn and shrimp chowder that was very heavy on the corn and had almost no shrimp (two micro-shrimp in my serving). The sandwich was a pre-wrapped chilled concoction of cooked pig and cheese slathered in a mustard dressing - there was very little selection at all, and no sandwiches to order.

The sandwich was chilled and slimy and the soup barely warm - surely well below safe holding temperature. Yuk. No attempt at being green - paper soup 'bowl' and plastic spoon. The dining area was cluttered and untidy and during our stay no vacated tables were cleaned, and the overflowing trash can was only emptied just as we were walking out the door.

Small paper bowl of soup and a 1/3 french roll with meat and cheese filling (and indigestion), for two: over $20

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David-from-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlanticBakingCo, Manager at Atlantic Baking Co., responded to this review, August 12, 2012
We are very sorry that you had such a negative experience at Atlantic Baking Company. It's true that Rockland has many great eating establishments and we take pride in being one of them.
It's a shame that we didn't know about your experience when you were in the restaurant - we could have corrected a few things immediately.
We have pre-made sandwiches which are made with our freshly made bread in the morning. So we keep them in the cooler and they are wrapped. Perhaps not as ideal as a sandwich made to order but they are there as a quick lunch option. It sounds like you had one of our Cuban sandwiches, which is pulled pork, ham, swiss cheese, mustard and butter with a house-made pickle on our classic baguette. We have been getting favorable reviews on this sandwich, and we are sorry that it didn't meet your expectations.
You should have gotten a healthy amount of shrimp in your chowder. The normal portion is ample with Maine shrimp (which are small, sweet, and delicious). Your review has prompted us to pay closer attention to how each one of us portions the soup.
With the price that you quoted, I am assuming that you had double of those items you mentioned, as one portion of soup and one sandwich would only reach a little over $14.
We hope that you can give us another try some day. Or at least Rockland. It's a great town and we don't want your unhappiness with us to badly influence your Rockland experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atlantic Baking Co. also viewed

Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
Rockland, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Atlantic Baking Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing