We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A step back in time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Redclyffe Shore Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Robbinston
Edgartown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A step back in time!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here for one night during a trip to St. Andrews, New Brunswick. Our room was spotless, large and had a beautiful view of the St. Croix River. With limited options in a very small town, we decided to have dinner in the motel's large main house. We made the right choice! It is truly a family affair with the owner and her daughter doing the cooking and the grandson serving. The food was fabulous and the specialty drinks delicious. I had a creamy seafood meal with a light pastry topping. The dining room is filled with lovely English china and resembles a quaint tea room. We sat at a corner table overlooking the St. Croix River. Our server was a young college student who gave us information about the area. He was gracious and very efficient. His mother and grandmother could not have been nicer. They shared information about the ship building business in Robbinston, Maine so many years ago. The main house was the home of a ship builder which was interesting to me because my ancestor was a ship's carpenter in that very town. We had a great experience staying at the Redclyffe Shore Motel. It is a great price for a very clean room with nice owners. Keep in mind that your cell phone may pick up Canadian roaming charges - we needed to alert our cell phone provider which is common in this area. Discount comes with AAA membership which the owner cheerfully intormed us. We would definitely stay here again when traveling through the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room further from highway overlooking the St. Croix River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank VineyardKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
14
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

One review I read spoke about the hot water being tepid, and hoping it was fixed. It wasn't. AAA said the Redclyffe has wireless internet, but it sure didn't work in our room, and we were told that it didn't in those further from the office. I was tempted to drive around the parking lot to find where it did work. The bedding and towels certainly do need an upgrade. The fridge was nice, and we had a nice view, but it's a basic motel in a great setting with large rooms.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a great view, a large room and not much else, this works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Robbinston hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Freeport, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We were given a room in the newer section to the right as you are facing the motel. The room was roomy and clean. The room was about $65. Great view of the water!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank depfife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, ME
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

First of all, the restaurant is terrific, much better than you would expect in such an out-of-the-way place. The seafood is all very fresh and beautifully prepared. Our guest had chicken, which she said was also excellent. You must try the garlic mushrooms - worth the trip! And even the salad was made from fresh local greens, not the iceberg I was expecting.
Having said all that, I must say that I would NEVER sleep here again. While the rooms (as other reviewers have mentioned) were large and airy, and the linens were scrupulously clean, this is clearly an aging motel with problems. We nearly stepped through the bathroom floor in the first room we were assigned, and they were pleasant about changing us to another room. The floors sloped so none of the doors would close. The mattresses were saggy and smelled frankly musty, if not worse. I have had more comfortable nights' sleep on the ground in a tent, and at one point I was seriously contemplating moving off of my torturous bed and sleeping on the floor.
In conclusion, eat here for sure, but surely don't sleep here!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed here during a motorcycle trip of Maritimes and some of Maine. It was recommended by a booked B&B in Calais when we were looking for something close to the border, en route to Eastport and Campobello. It fit the bill; the price was right. Charmingly quirky, it has huge rooms with gorgeous views, small refrigerators and built-in coffeemakers from the 1960's. It's the kind of hotel where you get a real key and the paper band around your toilet.
Our linens were fine; walls were thin. No hot water for a bit; the repairman found the switch was simply turned off.
Kitsch-filled gift shop and restaurant where we had one of the best seafood meals of our entire 2-week trip - excellent food and service - it has character.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies or closest to river have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diver4comm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewer, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We booked a night after receiving a lead from a no-vacancy neighbor facility and reading reviews here. We found the bedding in our motel unit if not uncleaned (translucent spots like vegetable oil stains) then most definitely overdue for the ragpile (sheets threadbare to the point of see-through and the blanket nappy and pilled). We asked at the desk to check another unit and found the bed off it's headboard screwed to the wall and settled to that end and decided to ask for refund (given) and leave. The clerk offered as explanation that the inn/motel is seasonal, that they get rust stains from their laundry equipment that transfers to their sheets, that they use a lot of bleach in their laundry, and that their housekeeping staff has worked there for over 20 years. That did probably date the bedding as also 20 years old and explained their threadbare nature. Because the facility is seasonal, there is a camp-musty air to the rooms and the whole place has suffered winter's ravages and general neglect. Yes, it's right on the water, but all the units are BACK-TO the water and the access is fenced-off. There are other places nearby that are nicer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We have stayed here a few times on our way to Canada and it still has the charm of years past, elegantly preserved. Same room with a magnificent view of the Bay, the food and service are exceptional, Justin was our waiter, the young man is very informative and helped us choose our wine from there extensive wine list, the choice was perfect. We spent the evening watching the sailboats go by and then took a moonlit walk on the rocky beach, it was truely an unforgettable Maine experience, we plan on stopping here each year.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Penley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robbinston
3.1 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chamcook Forest Lodge
Chamcook Forest Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chamcook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in Saint Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
2.5 mi away
Picket Fence Motel
Picket Fence Motel
#2 of 7 in Saint Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kingsbrae Arms
Kingsbrae Arms
#9 of 13 in Saint Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redclyffe Shore Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redclyffe Shore Motel

Property: Redclyffe Shore Motel
Address: Blue Star Memorial Highway, Route 1, Robbinston, ME 04671
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Robbinston
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Robbinston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Redclyffe Shore Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Redclyffe Shore Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redclyffe Shore Motel Robbinston, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing