We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten free delliciousness!”
Review of Red Onion

Red Onion
Ranked #9 of 24 Restaurants in Rangeley
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Mantua, New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gluten free delliciousness!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Fabulous gluten free pizza! Ordered take out regular too as well as a pasta dinner- all was scrumptious

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    74
    37
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Longmeadow, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good enough for a 2nd visit the next night!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

This place is right in downtown Rangeley on Main Street where you can walk across the street to a few gift shops; a bookstore, etc.
Wow, what personable waitstaff! This place was hopping with locals as well as tourists; lots of families stopped here for dinner. There are 2-3 sections to this restaurants. Definitely eat in the back area as it was much cooler than the front room when you walk in (there is also a nice deck with tables/umbrellas outside).

The homemade pizzas were great; we had a pepperoni one night; and a pepperoni/sausage combo the next night. Both times the pizza was great. The crust is on the thinner side and somewhat crispy (but not too crispy/hard); just right.
I ordered Chicken Broccoli Penne and that was good too (not the best I've ever had but tasty just the same). The broccoli was al dente' which I prefer (and not overcooked). The organic chicken in this dish was delicious. The salad was very fresh both nights and consistent. A very casual restaurant, as are 99% of the restaurants in Rangeley. We will definitely come to The Red Onion again if/when we visit Rangeley.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank FormerVermonter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Generous portions, but it takes a while on a summer day.”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Typical diner/pizza joint style food. Large portions. Service seemed a bit disorganized and it took a long time to get our food, but overall was a good experience.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank amie818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great pizza. We tried 6 different pizzas and each was very good if not excellent. Really liked the Combination, Aloha and White pizzas, as well as our build our own. Friendly service, good prices, good family atmosphere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great meal at a great price.”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

The food was very good, and the prices were reasonable. The service was very good, even though they were extremely short handed due to a staff emergency. The server explained the situation and apologized, even though there was no need for it. Food arrived promptly, was very good, and a good value.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank divr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing