We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice addition to the rangeley restaurant choices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forks in the Air Mountain Bistro

Forks in the Air Mountain Bistro
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Rangeley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Forks in the Air Mountain Bistro is a Rangeley restaurant celebrating Maine's food and drink at its best. Located on Main Street in Rangeley, Maine, join us for dinner this summer.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice addition to the rangeley restaurant choices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very good food and drink. Relaxing atmosphere. Alittle pricey but you get what you pay for. Service was awesome. We sat at the bar. Will definitely go back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lkg0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    29
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Probably the best eats in Rangeley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Pretty expensive, but very good food and good service which can be hard to find in Rangeley. We had the burger, vegetarian entee, pork loin and the flatbread. All delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
98 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely bistro in a rural town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Forks In The Air is a new bistro, having taken over from a previous similar bistro. Happy to say it is excellent. And in how many restaurants will your server sit down at the table with you to go over the menu, and help with allergy-issue substitutes?

The main courses were all delicious, as was the wine. The dessert - well, not up to its previous items. I'd definitely go back for a romantic dinner - cozy, comfortable, and friendly. Just skip dessert and hop over to the Pine Tree Frosty for soft serve or ice cream.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank badbacktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Four for dinner, all were pleased.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We very much enjoyed our dinner at Forks. We had a 6:15 res on a Wednesday night, so there were empty chairs when we started but the room soon filled up. Our waitress was attentive and the service was very good. The food was particularly well prepared. We had steak, shrimp, and a vegetarian entree. There were at least two veg entrees on the menu, which is unusual for Rangeley. The wine list was good, if not extensive and the bartender knows how to mix a drink. Overall, this was a great dining experience, a cut above for Rangeley. We will return, and isn't that the best recommendation?
Note: there are reviews here for a Forks in the Air, that pre date the opening of this restaurant, which was July 2013. These older reviews are apparently from "Cornerside"' which occupied the same space but was not the same restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mooselook426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Stick A Fork In It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Literally the best thing ever. Who knew truffle fries would be so yummy? Family of four. I had the wild mushroom dish. So flavorful! The corn chowder and the Mac n cheese were also a great choice. Guess I have to mention the truffle fries... My son won't stop talking about them. Now we need to find truffle oil and attempt making them ourselves since we live three hours from Rangeley.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ColaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForksInTheAir, Public Relations Manager at Forks in the Air Mountain Bistro, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for dining with us! We're so glad you enjoyed your meal and the truffle fries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forks in the Air Mountain Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Forks in the Air Mountain Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing