We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views, wonderful service and accommodations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rangeley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 10 Rangeley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The lodge is set on a beautiful hillside overlooking the lake and it was quiet enough that we felt very private, with our own entrance. Room was very comfortable and the service was attentive without being intrusive. Restaurant was a nice convenience and food was good. Would definitely return or recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 118 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

My partner and I stayed here a night along our quest to hike the Maine Appalachian Trail. The staff were so friendly and accommodating, the food was wonderful and the lake views so peaceful. The bed was super comfy! We'll return again for sure when we can spend more time to enjoy this beautiful haven...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indiegrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The staff at the lodge are amazing - very friendly and accommodating. They truly make the experience! Thanks to Barb and Liz especially! Chef Pat prepares some wonderful meals - a "must try" for dining in Rangeley. The lodge itself is beautiful. I will say that one downfall was with the room we stayed in --- we could very easily hear the guests next door talking at a normal level. The shower was also impractical - I had to wedge myself in the corner of the shower stall to get under the water and I am relatively small. Overall, we had a positive experience and I would consider returning, at the very least for the dining!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromkingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Six of us, grandparents, parents and children, arrived at Loon Lodge on a rainy, overcast day this week to be greeted by a deteriorated rubber shoe scraping mat at the front entry. The parking lot was typical Maine in that it was gravelly and sandy however, the condition of the mat might very well have given one the impression that you were entering an about to be closed Sears store instead of the wonderful country inn, full of north woods ambiance that Loon Lodge is. Another industrial type, ugly brownish gray floor mat had been installed in the entryway apparently to alert patrons that they should scrape their shoes again.
Once inside, the first impressions gave way to a delightful restaurant, bar and old time living/waiting area. The staff was delightful and quite accommodating in that we were told that lunch was not being served but "I'll see if the chef will open the kitchen for you." which he did and our lunch was perfect.
Our visit was unfortunately for only one night and staying for dinner as well was an excellent choice.
By the time this review is posted, I would imagine that both entry mats will have been changed to be a bit more pleasant and welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Four of us for dinner ...our table overlooked the lake ...the place had a comfortable rustic feel to it...we lingered for 2.5 hours thoroughly enjoying ourselves... Our wait person (Melissa) was superb...she had great timing, a nice personality and knew the menu..we shared a couple apps...believe it or not the stuffed dates wrapped in applewood bacon was a big hit..calamari was good but not great ...stuffed haddock was delicious and enough for two...2 of us had the grilled ribeye steak....would not ordinarily order it but it was delicious ..my wife enjoyed her tuna..wine by the glass was excellent ...and we splurged with dessert...the price was very reasonable so value comfortably exceeded price...we're going back this fall and looking foreword to it..

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cookings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We generally "wing it" when traveling, looking for rooms when we arrive and after assessing the area. Sometimes it's a bit of scramble, but we've found it more reliable -- and more fun -- than booking a place blind. (Trip Advisor is certainly a help with the latter, though.)

On a recent overnight to the Rangeley Lakes region, we checked out several local inns and found them to be either overpriced, a bit seedy, corporate-boring, or a bit too "precious." Then we came upon the Loon Lodge. Build in the early 20th century, this place has had a lot of uses, but it functions quite well as a Lodge. Set right on the shore of Rangeley Lake, but a ways away from the busiest, noisiest part of the lake, Loon Lodge sits above a generous expanse of lawn which slopes down to a large boat dock and small beach. With Adirondack chairs scattered here and there, the lawn offers a spectacular view of the lake, especially at sunset. Our room also overlooked the lake, a nice plus.

The Lodge also has a fine restaurant, with menu items for every taste. There is some seating on a deck overlooking the lake.

The only downside, and why I gave it four stars, is that the walls are a bit thin. Fortunately, it seems to get a nice clientele who are respectful of the privacy of their next-room neighbors, and we slept soundly through the night. YMMV.

As for expense, I'd put this in a middle category. Not budget, for sure, but not luxury top end, either.

In all, a great stay and a good find.

Room Tip: Ask which rooms have been upgraded for sound-proofing.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were recommended to this lodge/restaurant by the owners of the Pleasant Street Inn. They said the food was worth the trip and we would not be disappointed. We were not led astray. I had the pork dish and my wife had the haddock. Both were excellent and delicious. We will surely patronize the Loon Lodge on our next trip top the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnmilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rangeley
1.1 mi away
The Rangeley Inn
The Rangeley Inn
#1 of 3 in Rangeley
163 reviews
17.7 mi away
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carrabassett Valley
132 reviews
23.7 mi away
Herbert Grand Hotel
Herbert Grand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingfield
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rangeley Lake Resort, a Festiva Resort
0.8 mi away
Rangeley Saddleback Inn
Rangeley Saddleback Inn
#2 of 3 in Rangeley
104 reviews
16.6 mi away
Spillover Motel
Spillover Motel
#1 of 2 in Stratton
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant

Address: 16 Pickford Rd, P.O. Box 676, Rangeley, ME 04970
Location: United States > Maine > Rangeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rangeley
Price Range: $110 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loon Lodge Inn and Restaurant on the easterly shore of Rangeley Lake is perfectly situated for spectacular evening sunsets. The lodge, built in 1899, has been meticulously restored and is open to the public offering guest rooms, fine dining, Pub fare, and event planning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant Rangeley, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing