We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there if you have the chance.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rangeley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 10 Rangeley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Sunsets, wonderful food,also can get there by boat. Dining alfresco is perfect especially at sunset.Ask for a table on the porch. Winter dining is great too as this is the coziest restaurant in town. And don't miss the foliage in the Fall.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nolanorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 118 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were looking for a place to have cocktails and a light dinner in a peaceful setting on the lake. We found what we were looking for and more at the Loon Lodge. We decided to eat in the pub which was a welcoming room and Lisa , the bartender, was very friendly. We decided to sit out on the porch and enjoy the great view of the lake. We felt like we were on our own porch. My husband had mussels which he said were greats and I had Caesar salad and crab cakes, very tasty . We were not hurried through our courses and were able to enjoy the views of Rangeley Lake. A little pricier than other Rangeley restaurants, but in this case you get what ou ay or.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Livingthegoodlife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

.........Went there for dinner last friday (5-31-13) we enjoyed the rustic atmosphere and the food was very well prepared, delicious and served in a timely manner, which was much appreciated considering that some of the other establishments we went to in the area were sub par. Our experience at the lodge was enjoyable except for one small detail. One of the waitresses was wearing open toed sandals and I normally dont concern myself with other peoples feet but I accidentally looked down when she walked by and I saw the crusty brown bottoms of her feet and I began to lose my appetite- this may seem petty but it would be nice to know your food server actually practices good hygiene. So overall I would have given the lodge two entusastic thumbs up except for this one small, unfortunate incident.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We traveled 3 weeks through New England. The stay at Loon Lodge was one of the most impressive. Beautiful surrounding and nearly perfect service. The house is blockhouse style. The rooms are large. Separate WC/bath surprises but fits very well to the atmosphere of the lodge.
Restaurant is very good, but not open daily.

Room Tip: Rooms to lakeside are more quiet Choose a room with allocated WC/bath
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johannes G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

It's a beautiful old building with lots of character and tt's very clean and cozy. The food is very good but pricey. The cost of the rooms are very competitive. The only downfall is the lack of sound proofing. You can literally hear someone whispering in the next room. I stayed in the Saddleback and thought it was lovely. Just goes to show you how different peoples perceptions are.

Room Tip: I'd pick the saddleback again. You don't have to share a bath and it's right outside yo...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My wife and I have made Loon Lodge our first choice when it comes to enjoying the Great State of Maine. Here at the Lodge you can experience the rustic nature of a real lodge by staying in the upper rooms or if you are more accustom to modern accommodations I recommend choosing the Lakeside Rooms on the lower level. There you will find spacious rooms king sized beds, heated floors, huge baths, a fantastic view of the lake and yet have full access to the amenities of the rustic fireplace room.
We have dined at the restaurant at least 20 times over the years and not once were we disappointed. The service was outstanding, the food and atmosphere are exactly what you would expect from folks who care about their clientele.
Be aware, that if you come here expecting a "Holiday Inn" experience just keep on driving by. You will be welcome like family but treated like royalty. And a note to those who insist on having their beds turned down and a chocolate placed on their pillow, this is an old lodge in the woods of Maine so kick off your shoes and your big city ways and take a step back and relax.
We will be making our next reservations in the Fall and hope to get in some great days hiking on the nearby Appalachian Trail or up on some of the mountain trails.

Room Tip: Rustic Lodge = upper rooms Fancy Schmancy = Lakeside 1 & 2
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manomaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The food and our experience in the pub was good, however the room we stayed in had an extremely uncomfortable bed with terrible pillows. The shower was one of the worst showers I have ever used. Very noisy rooms, we could hear music and the conversations that the kitchen staff was having late into the night from our room. In addition, there were kids staying in the room next to us that cried all night, which made our stay less than memorable.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Mogul. Right above the kitchen, lots of excess noise. We could hear kitchen staff u...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rangeley
1.1 mi away
The Rangeley Inn
The Rangeley Inn
#1 of 3 in Rangeley
164 reviews
17.7 mi away
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carrabassett Valley
132 reviews
23.7 mi away
Herbert Grand Hotel
Herbert Grand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingfield
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rangeley Lake Resort, a Festiva Resort
0.8 mi away
Rangeley Saddleback Inn
Rangeley Saddleback Inn
#2 of 3 in Rangeley
105 reviews
16.5 mi away
Spillover Motel
Spillover Motel
#1 of 2 in Stratton
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant

Address: 16 Pickford Rd, P.O. Box 676, Rangeley, ME 04970
Location: United States > Maine > Rangeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Rangeley
Price Range: $110 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loon Lodge Inn and Restaurant on the easterly shore of Rangeley Lake is perfectly situated for spectacular evening sunsets. The lodge, built in 1899, has been meticulously restored and is open to the public offering guest rooms, fine dining, Pub fare, and event planning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant Rangeley, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing