We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location on Rangeley Lake” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rangeley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 8 Rangeley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Smyrna, Delaware
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent location on Rangeley Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Close to the town of Rangeley, Maine and especially convenient to fishing (i.e. Rangeley Lake Guide Service) Very nice accomodations and extremely pleasant staff. The rooms were a good value for the price paid and the restaurant and bar were convenient.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    23
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
18
67
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
maine
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Having just returned from a weekend stay at the Loon Lodge, I feel bad that someone had to give it such an overall poor rating even after pointing out all of its very admirable traits. This guest's description captured the essence of the Loon Lodge. It is what it is, so be it, yes, it's an old building and yes, it has paper thin walls!; that cannot be changed without a major overall to the building and at a risk of losing its integrity and character. The beds are quite comfortable, and hopefully one day, they'll replace the futons!

I knew from the moment that I first saw the Loon Lodge last winter, that I wanted to return as a guest. I had the pleasure of that experience this past weekend, and I was not disappointed. It's quite charming from the moment you first walk in greeted by a professional courteous staff which was always there to help but was unobstrusive. The housekeeper was especially helpful going out of her way one day to ask the chef if he could warm up some soup for me (I had a bad cold!)...and then there's the crackling fire in the large stone fireplace. How could you not fall in love? There are no televisions or telephones in the rooms, absolutely no distractions, except perhaps for the sounds of other people; during our overnight stay of two nights, the noise seemed to dissipate by nine or ten o'clock. I'm not quite sure, I only know that I fell fast asleep with the sounds of people talking and laughing in the dining room beneath us. We had a light dinner beforehand in the small pub; I had the calamari which was delicious and my husband had the haddock which was equally as good!

And so, you now know what to expect....my husband and I will most definitely return hopefully this summer. I can't wait to sit in one of the adirondack chairs on the shore of Rangeley Lake and take in the view of the surrounding water and mountains! Til then, I will this very special place.

Room Tip: You needn't bother going here if you expect to have all of the frills of a modern resort, but if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

The Loon Lodge is a place we have had the pleasure of experiencing many times over a span of several years. In the Spring you can experience the awakening of the Maine woods, in the Summer the lake is at your doorstep, in the Fall you are near some of the most beautiful hiking trails in the state and the Winter, snow covered adventures await your pleasure.
My wife and I have dined in the Loon Lodge restaurant more than a dozen times and EVERY meal has been superb and served by a courteous and efficient wait staff. It would be impossible to describe the ambience of the dining room as it has to be experienced. On several occasions they have even imported a custom cake from a local bakery at our request to make sure our stay was memorable.
The accommodations vary from the rustic rooms for those who want to experience a real Maine lodge or the Lakeside rooms with king sized beds and heated floors.
In the evenings you can relax with a hot beverage in the “Great Room” next to a crackling fire in winter or taking in the breeze off the lake in the summer out on the deck.
If you are looking for one of the best, take it from my wife and I, you will not match Loon Lodge for a place to stay when you need a place to relax and enjoy.
If the staff is reading this…Thanks and See You in the Fall!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manomaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

Beautiful, rustic, well kept, clean, organized, quintessential woodsy, lakefront Maine In reality, the Loon Lodge is certainly to be strongly considered when planning overnight trip to the Rangeley area. The views can't be beat, the cozy fireplace, sitting area, bar, the building's history, charm, character, and restaurant ooze rustic, homey elegance. The rooms are appropriately appointed...... Now you wonder why I rated the Loon Lodge an overall poor choice? Two major, (emphasis major) issues ---

-- COMFORT: though the beds are comfy comfy comfy, the fold out futon beds which allow another person or so in the room (works for kids) are the pits. The futons in both rooms we've stayed in are barely adequate from a comfort perspective - be prepared for a rough night's sleep, especially when you end up trading places cuz one of the kids can't sleep well on the futon.
---NOISE: Someone else I believe mentioned - - the walls, and floors are paper thin - you can hear every (and I mean every) snore, cough, sneeze, toilet flushing, door closing, conversation taking place in adjacent rooms or downstairs - particularly in one room that is pretty much over the fireplaced sitting area. We were so lucky enough recently to be treated to the cook telling his life story to what seemed like a newfound friendship with a female guest whuile sitting by the fireplace though sounding as though they were at the foot of our bed - - - and I'll add, the entire flirtaceous conversation occurred over wine and between the hours of 1:00am to 4:00am - not fun! To say I was cranky in the morning is an understatement. You'd think there'd be a policy of these kinds of shenanigans. . . . .
As mentioned, the Lodge is exquisite and it's a shame something cannot be done to improve the acoustic issues. . . . . . though for the reasons above, I'd never every consider staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank free b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Inn offers of a beautifully rustic ambiance from the wooden floors to the stone fireplace. The most accommodating staff I have ever had the pleasure to meet; they served with skill and an obviously honest charm. Our purpose there was for an elopement service in front of the fireplace. The manager saw to it that everything went smoothly for us and our 6 guests. After our Notary performed a "Rose" ceremony, we had a champagne toast and a semi private dinner. The dining was very enjoyable and delicious and again, the staff bent over backwards to see that our evening went perfect.We have already re-booked for the late spring and some of the best trout and salmon fishing in the state.
Our trip could not possibly have been better - thank you Beth and staff.

Room Tip: The Lakeside rooms are large, quite and have great views of the lake; worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darl and Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

The Lodge is a beautiful, historic lodge with a great dinner. The wait staff was very pleasant and attended to our needs. The manager of the lodge was both professional and pleasant. The views were spectacular. Great start to our visit!

Unfortunately, the walls are VERY thin and we enjoyed the sound of music, conversation and snoring through the night. The temperature of the room was 67 degrees when we awoke and the thermostat had a lock box cover. There was no hot water for a morning shower and although we let it run several minutes, we left without a shower to our next destination.

Great views and professional staff, but with the challenges we faced, it is doubtful we will visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingfoo33691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

We loved the Loon Lodge from the minute we walked through the door. It is charming, decorated in a great cabin style, very warm and inviting. The view of the lake and sunsets on the lake are spectacular. We loved our room, The Nordic room and woke to a view out onto the beautiful lake.

Dinner was fantastic. Service was warm and friendly. All around an enchanting time. While breakfast is not served there, Mooseley Bagels down the street is wonderful for breakfast.

Room Tip: We liked the Nordic and would choose a room with a view of the lake. The bathroom for the Nordic is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank summervisitor30226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rangeley
1.1 mi away
The Rangeley Inn
The Rangeley Inn
#1 of 3 in Rangeley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
23.7 mi away
Herbert Grand Hotel
Herbert Grand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
17.7 mi away
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carrabassett Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rangeley Lake Resort, a Festiva Resort
16.5 mi away
Spillover Motel
Spillover Motel
#1 of 3 in Stratton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Inn on Winter' Hill
The Inn on Winter' Hill
#1 of 2 in Kingfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant

Property: Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant
Address: 16 Pickford Rd, P.O. Box 676, Rangeley, ME 04970
Location: United States > Maine > Rangeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Rangeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loon Lodge Inn and Restaurant on the easterly shore of Rangeley Lake is perfectly situated for spectacular evening sunsets. The lodge, built in 1899, has been meticulously restored and is open to the public offering guest rooms, fine dining, Pub fare, and event planning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant Rangeley, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing