We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in the pub”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rangeley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 8 Rangeley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food in the pub”
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I had dinner twice last week in the pub with my husband. Consistent with the rest of the inn, the pub has a traditional mountain camp décor with real wood panels and pictures of snowmobiles. It is a popular spot for the locals on Wednesday-Saturday evenings. In the summer, they boat across the lake and dock at the inn. It is a beautiful location for weddings which get close attention from the event manager and the owners. The waitress seemed happy and was quick.

The menu in the pub includes pub entrees, dining room entrees, and dinner specials, and there is a full bar. The glasses of pinot noir were a quality well above the typical house wine. The portion sizes and quality were very good.

I loved the Loon Lodge Salad, spring mix lettuce, pecans, dried cranberries and a generous pile of deep-fried onion strips. The Mushroom Strudel had sautéed mushrooms with garlic, leeks and chevre cheese wrapped in crispy phyllo dough and served with a port demi glace. The browned phyllo piled on top was showy but didn’t contribute much although the filling was tasty. Baked Brie en Croute was standard, but I really liked the warm fruit sauce on it. My husband enjoyed and ate a huge serving of Saturday-special prime rib. The butternut squash ravioli were in a subtly sweet and seasoned cream sauce with lots of sautéed vegetables. I asked for some chicken with it, and got slices of tender chicken on top. We were too stuffed for dessert.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Londonderrylaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    23
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
18
68
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2011

My wife and I stayed for two nights in late February along with several other couples. I've stayed in the Rangeley area many times in the past, but this was our first time at Loon Lodge & it definitely won't be our last.

The room we were in (room 1) is at ground level with a fantastic view of the lake; it was spacious, well decorated, and the bed was comfortable. There was no TV and no phone, which is fine with me, but there is wi-fi, and the connection was superb.

The common room is pleasant and welcoming, and quite "inn-like", with an enormous stone fireplace with real wood logs burning. There's a pub style bar off of the common area.

We had dinner twice while we were there, and both meals were superb. My wife and I both had duck the first night, along with a bottle of very nice wine; I had the prime rib the next night.

If you stay during the winter, I recommend the cross-country ski area. It was amazing, with miles of groomed trails.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pickitraveler044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2011

We stayed a couple nights here enjoying the winter time fun Rangeley has to offer. We had the opportunity to try several dishes and I enjoyed exploring each flavorful dish. Loon Lodge is worth the stay but anyone who loves finding a creative menu that won't disappoint definitely needs to visit this wonderful part of Maine.

FYI - the lodge is right on the lake with snowmobile access, a large dining area and bar downstairs that could potentially be used for functions?? and less than 10 minutes from Saddleback Mtn.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank __BigAir_JP__
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Meadows, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

After a number of great meals at the Loon Lodge over the years(especially the prime rib), I was extremely disapointed in my last visit in Nov. 2010.

The prime rib and pasta dish my wife and I had was terrible (even the ceasar salad was inedible).
After questioning the waitress she said they had changed chefs (and by her expression had heard this before)

What a shame. This was such a great place with great people that you could not find anywhere else in town. It's the place you could get dressed up and go out for a meal without ever having to worry about food quality.

We are hoping to spend New Years Eve dinner here, but can't bring ourselves to go back.

We just hope they do the right thing and bring back a real chef (not just a cook)

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rangeleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

We looked at various places online for this area and looked at the reviews for Loon Lodge before booking. The rooms are basic, a little dull, very clean (no TV, but who cares) but the walls are paper thin, we could hear the people clearly in the next room just talking and the floors very squeeky. Our "Christie" room was supposed to be ensuite but the door from the coridor didn't lock & neither did the bathroom door, a little off putting. The Food & setting however is first class, service superb great choice and some nice wine, anyone in the area should try the food. They don't serve breakfast and there is not much else in the area to choose from, maybe missing an opportunity here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveAndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangeley
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Three years ago, we were fortunate enough to have our wedding celebration at the Loon Lodge. With some concern, we began the process of searching for a place to hold the party. We were not sure that our union would be something that western Maine, Rangeley or the Loon Lodge would embrace. We were very wrong! From the moment we walked in the door and told Karen, the general manager, that we were a gay couple who wanted to have a party to celebrate our marriage, we were treated with nothing but respect. The staff could not have been more pleasant and thrilled to be part of our special day. Our party guests who stayed at the inn, both gay and straight, had only positive things to say about the staff and their stay at the inn. The staff did everything in their power to make our event special. We have had many meals at Loon Lodge since that night including tonight, and we have always been treated with respect. We booked our first anniversary dinner at Loon Lodge and were extremely touched when we arrived at our table and found a gift from the staff! This is a very welcoming place, one that treats all their guests the same respect, and one that we will continue to patronize. Loon Lodge is truly a special place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyinRangeleyMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

This is a beautiful lake, area, and property. Though we felt the rate was a bit higher than what you got, it is a beautiful place and view. Especially the Adirondak chairs by the lake.
We are a married gay couple and once the staff realized that, we did not feel very welcome. At check-in, having reserved a King room, we were told that they were not advised in advance that we needed the futon bed made up in the room ( nice way of asking I guess, but who should have to ask?)... we did not need it made up. The staff is either unskilled or unaware that there are a variety of good paying travelers who may patronize thier establishment. We found the staff to be very stand-off-ish, unattentive and almost avoiding us. It was uncomfortable. Fortunately, we were only passing through for a night. Despite what looks like a lovely dining room and menu, we chose to get a pizza in town instead. Lost revenue to them.. So we would either recommend that Loon Lodge do some diversity training for thier staff or that gay & lesbian travelers choose another property in the Rangeley Lake area, or pitch a gay-friendly tent somewhere!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank equaltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rangeley
1.1 mi away
The Rangeley Inn
The Rangeley Inn
#1 of 3 in Rangeley
143 reviews
23.7 mi away
Herbert Grand Hotel
Herbert Grand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingfield
214 reviews
17.7 mi away
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
Sugarloaf Mountain Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carrabassett Valley
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rangeley Lake Resort, a Festiva Resort
16.5 mi away
Spillover Motel
Spillover Motel
#1 of 3 in Stratton
94 reviews
18.8 mi away
Nestlewood Inn
Nestlewood Inn
#1 of 1 in Carrabassett Valley
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant

Property: Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant
Address: 16 Pickford Rd, P.O. Box 676, Rangeley, ME 04970
Location: United States > Maine > Rangeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Rangeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loon Lodge Inn and Restaurant on the easterly shore of Rangeley Lake is perfectly situated for spectacular evening sunsets. The lodge, built in 1899, has been meticulously restored and is open to the public offering guest rooms, fine dining, Pub fare, and event planning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loon Lodge Inn & Restaurant Rangeley, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing