We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OOps...I rated the lake first” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Height of Land

Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Rangeley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic overview on the drive between Rangeley and Mooselookmeguntic Lake.
Dixfield, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OOps...I rated the lake first”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Thought I was rating the height of land. I love to send people here...the whole world drops off at your feet with the spectacular view! Now that they've fixed the road there, it's a lot more accesible & safe to stop.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelblu999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    25
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gorham, Maine
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Even the kids were in awe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Making our way to Rangeley, Maine was a slow and tedious drive...until we rounded a bend and came upon the HEIGHT OF LAND. Wow! Even the kids were in awe! The view is simply breathtaking...no two ways about it. If you are staying in Rangeley, as we were, we stopped on our drive there to stretch and set the tone for our visit. Then, one quiet afternoon, we drove back to HEIGHT OF THE LAND as the Appalachian Trail goes right though the parking area. We picked up the trail and hiked about a mile up and then back, just to say we have experienced a classic piece of American geography. Please be aware, however, that this is truly a hiking portion of the trail, with the younger kids (9 and 6) sometimes needing help to navigate the rocks and late-November icy patches.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MomtoNine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stop and take pictures, of course, in any season. In warmer weather, give a ride to a hiker if someone is coming off of the Appalachian Trail, right nearby.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MassaHari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Gorgeous lookout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Highway planners - we want more of these! This one is new, handles a large number of cars, has helpful info posted and offers a gorgeous view of the lake & mountains.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DCB-Bend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

A beautiful overlook and worth the short drive. Pack a picnic and relax with the awesome view............................

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DWKWTOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Height of Land also viewed

 

Been to Height of Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing