We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hospitality and genuine care of the owners is amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elsa's Inn On The Harbor
Reviewed March 25, 2009

We visited in late August of 2008 and the owners made us feel like family. The breakfast was unique and had several options. We traveled with our two boys, ages five and ten and we felt comfortable and at home. I would recommend this inn for anyone that wants excellent service with a down home feel. We will return.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephiboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for Elsa's Inn On The Harbor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 76 of 76 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2009

Our family of 4 stayed at Elsa's Inn last summer. We had a wonderful time, the inn is so very charming and comfortable. The common area is so cozy and pretty, with the absolute most perfect view of Prospect Harbor. The food was fantastic- we even were able to schedule a lobster bake with the owners. Breakfast is always delicious and plentiful and the breakfast room is sunny- a great place to meet fellow travelers.

Our room had a pull out sofa and a queen bed. The bathroom was quite large, and stocked with soft plush towels and nice smelling toiletries from a local soap company. They even had some kids videos in our room for our two small girls. Our room overlooked both the harbor and the charming back yard of the inn.

Megan & her mother Cindy were very hospitable. They really know how to strike the fine balance between being chatty and helpful without being overbearing. We enjoyed hearing about the history of the house (it was Megan's Grandndparent's home) and the lobster fishing trade.

If you are looking for a nice place to either get away from it all, or somewhere that is convenient to Bar Harbor & Acadia National Park & the cute town of Winter Harbor, I recommend Elsa's Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWMSoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

Ron and I stayed at Elsa's Inn last Fall. The room was beautiful, so comfortable and very clean. We felt right at home. Breakfast was a real treat. A wonderful variety of good homemade dishes. Our dog Barklee also enjoyed his stay. Elsa's Inn is a real treat for anyone who wants to have an inviting, comfortable stay in "Downeast Maine."
Ron and Marsha Boyd, Watertown, South Dakota"

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherryHill_NJMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2007

In December 2006 we visited the area of Prospect Harbor in search of a small Inn for a modest group vacation. Among many inns sampled in the region (and some highly regarded on Trip Advisor and other guides) and further south along the Maine coast, we selected Elsa’s Inn (Prospect Harbor, near the route 186/195 junction). In August 2007 we stayed at the inn for five nights with several other couples in our group. This is a great inn, and my wife and I would return in a heartbeat. The inn has six rooms, all of which are adequate in size with some a bit larger than others. All have private bathrooms and ceiling fans. The inn was modernized and opened a few years ago. It is kept sparkling clean, with the characteristic unpretentious down east Maine character one often finds east of Bar Harbor – slightly rustic (compared with modern motel chains, or heavy high Victorian inns), but slightly rustic in the most charming, well decorated, and pleasant way. A mother (Cindy) and daughter (Megan) run the inn, which is the house Cindy’s husband grew up in as a child. Both women are filled with information about the area, are cordial and friendly, and seem to enjoy their roles. The family has roots in the area that go back many generations. The beds are very comfortable. Breakfasts in the dining room consist of cereal (home made) and at least one home cooked hot dish along with fruit, served buffet style – always delicious. The coffee is very good. There is deck behind the inn with tables and chairs. The inn is across the street from a working small harbor where lobster fishermen moor their boats. Chairs on the front porch let you linger and watch the activity in the harbor as the lobster boats return with their catch. If it is cold off-season, you can watch from the front parlor through windows that face the harbor. The early morning departure of the boats creates little unpleasant noise and we and our friends slept well at the inn. There is an active fish cannery several hundred yards away, visible from the inn. This was not a problem in any way (we were not troubled by noise or odors); indeed looking through the windows (no tours are available) at the canning operation received a friendly wave from the staff inside. If enough guests are interested in a group dinner the hosts will create a full lobster dinner on site at the inn for modest cost per person. The lobsters are fresh caught (Cindy’s husband is a lobster fisherman) and cooked to perfection. A Google search will find the inn and the e-mail address. An e-mail will typically get a response in a day or less. The inn is located further east along the coast (45 minutes) than the very busy Bar Harbor, and is very close to a small bit of the Acadia National Park on the Schoodic Peninsula that is often missed by tourists and is thus very pleasant to visit, with its rugged and rocky Maine coast, beautiful coastal views, significant tide swing, etc.. We took several (short and longer) hikes in the area and rarely saw another hiker. Several good restaurants (some of which close off-season) are in the area so you will not be at a loss for good food, especially in the summer. The inn has as selection of menus and can make suggestions and reservations. Want a fine little inn with great hosts and wonderful down east charm? Look no further than Elsa’s.

2  Thank BobHLeverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prospect Harbor
9.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
690 reviews
9.7 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
429 reviews
9.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn
Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn
#1 of 3 in Prospect Harbor
252 reviews
7.2 mi away
Acadia View B & B
Acadia View B & B
#3 of 6 in Gouldsboro
45 reviews
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Bar Harbor Regency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elsa's Inn On The Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elsa's Inn On The Harbor

Address: 179 Main St, Prospect Harbor, Gouldsboro, ME 04669-5003
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Gouldsboro > Prospect Harbor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Prospect Harbor
Price Range: $147 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elsa's Inn On The Harbor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Elsa's Inn On The Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing