We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly overrated.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The place is on a road, not on the beach, but still scenic. However, the bathroom in our room was tiny and uncomfortable, and the room was FREEZING at night. I mentioned that we were cold and they gave us extra blankets - but it was only when we checked out that they bothered to inform us that hte thermostat for the room was outside the door! All in all a disappointing stay in terms of accommodations, though I have to say that the breakfast was really delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buusacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 257 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2009

Our stay at Oceanside Meadows was very disappointing. As another reviewer has mentioned, it is NOT right on the ocean (as the website shows). There is a road that runs right in front of the inn. The website tells you to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean - but if you leave your windows open, you will periodically awake to the sounds of cars and trucks driving by. Not very relaxing at all! We specifically chose this place because of the 200 acre nature preserve and the owners who were described as being passionate about the reserve. Well, the owners were not there (and there was no one else to tell you about the reserve). And since it was August, we couldn't go near the meadow because the mosquitoes would have eaten us alive. When we checked in, no one had thought to open up the room - a 3rd floor dormer room - which was stifling hot! And I'm not claustrophobic, but I had trouble sleeping in this close quarters. Don't stay here in August (hot, mosquitoes). And don't take the upstairs dormer room in the old farmhouse. And the much-touted gourmet breakfasts were also disappointing. The chilled fruit soups were best, but the breads and main dishes not very good. We checked out a day early. There are so many more interesting places in this area. We'll never go back. I've read through the other TripAdvisor reviews, which are very mixed, and I just don't understand how some people could have written so positively about this place. I guess it depends on what your expectations are.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KnowsHowToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

It is summertime in Maine, and with the beginning of September, comes the best time to visit the Pine Tree State. Actually, when visions of Maine flood my mind, I think of cobblestone beaches and the endless spray of salty surf against pink granite. Lazy, restorative days, where the cool sea breeze and a hot sun can easily lull you to sleep on a hard flat rock… At night, with the sounds of waves crashing on a nearby beach, I imagine an inky sky sprayed by the lights of a thousand glistening stars peppered against the heavenly vault. This may seem like a fantasy, but it actually exists on Maine’s Schoodic Peninsula, part of Acadia National Park. Millions of tourists filter annually through Bar Harbor and Acadia N.P. which surrounds it. But just an hour’s drive north or six miles by ferry, you will find the same protected rocky shore, but with only a handful of people. Time seems to stand still in Winter Harbor, Prospect Harbor, and Birch Harbor. I know because I have been visiting these places for over 30 years. Although you can see the stars in their most pristine form from anywhere on the Schoodic Peninsula, my favorite haunt is Acadia’s Oceanside Meadows Inn, a B&B with a singular rustic Victorian elegance and a view of the sea and surf that is unrivaled by any other downeast property. Owned by naturalist, Ben Walter, and educator, Sonja Sundaram, and operated by local sisters, Marla, Ola, and Edith, the Inn epitomizes the best in downeast elegance, including sumptuous three course vegetarian breakfasts and rooms that sweep in the cool sea air and the sounds of the rhythmic surf. Included on the property is a meadow where the stars shine just as brightly as they do in Texas or the Southwest. As the school term dawns this week, my mind remains on the Schoodic coast. More at www.oceaninn.com/...

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astrophotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Walking from the parking area to the Inn, there is a structure next to the Inn that is almost falling down - not the kind of site you would expect to see. We were greeting by the host, who was not the owner, but was very personable and accommodating. Apparently, the owners are there for about 6 months of the year. The Living Room boasts a picture of a gentlemen, which one would think would be the sea captain that is mentioned on their website, but isn't. The guest room was disappointingly small with barely enough room for a small table with 2 chairs and wooden vanity (about 2 feet from the bed). While the weather was cool, the room was not (would not suggest staying there in the summer). Kept the windows opened for air, but the air was stagnant. However, it was nice to hear the sounds of the ocean at night. The bathroom was also quite small with just enough room for the toilet and shower stall. The Inn offers a 3 or 4 course "gourmet" breakfast. The disappointing gourmet breakfast actually consisted of a fruit "chilled" soup, a small/thin slice of banana date bread with a petal from a day lily on it, and either quiche or blueberry pancakes. Overall, the Inn was not what I was expecting.

7  Thank PATravelGal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2008

My mom and I stayed at The Oceanside Meadows Inn for a few wonderful days in July 2008. This part of Maine is thankfully an overlooked treasure. Schoodic is a short 15 minute drive away with plenty of hiking and ocean watching-far from the crowds. Right on the property are trails and treasures to behold there. Across from the Inn is a beautiful cove. (Picture is included-and yes the water was really that blue.) I spent HOURS out on the rocks at the cove studying life in a tidal pool, watching a couple of bald eagles flying about, and just generally enjoying life away from the hustle and bustle. Everything about the Inn was fantastic-the accomodations, small fridge on the main level for all to use, fireplace to sit by at the end of the day, availability of tea all day, and the breakfasts! The food was fantastic. Each morning I couldn't wait to see/taste what had been prepared. The only disappointing thing was not being able to taste all seven of the breakfasts (they have a seven day rotation.) Well that will be remedied this coming July as we are going back there AGAIN.....and this time wil be able to stay for a week.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights and wished it could have been for longer. The Inn is set in a beautiful location - unspoiled and natural, overlooking the ocean. The room was comfortable and the managers were welcoming and helpful - there was a bottle of sparkling wine laid on to celebrate our honeymoon. The Schoodic peninsula is simply divine - take a walk and picnic to the Acadia National Park in this region - a lasting memory of our stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travelbugsGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2008

My five day stay here exceeded all expectations. Oceanside Meadows Inn is in a stunningly beautiful location near the Scoodic portion of Acadia. The Inn is set on 200 acres next to the ocean. At least 2 acres is manicured gardens with flower beds, herb gardens, etc. and the flowers may appear as part of the gormet breakfast in the mornings. The are well marked trails for hikes through the woods and marsh behind the property. Crossing a two lane road gets you to a sandy beach with adjacent rocks to climb and watch waves. You really can hear the ocean waves at night in the ocean facing rooms. The staff is pleasant and friendly, and there was tea available all day. It is an easy drive to restaurants (Le Domaine served one of the best meals I have had in years) and Acadia. My partner and I had a great time and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lotsofun40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn

Address: 202 Corea Rd, Prospect Harbor, Gouldsboro, ME 04669-5015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Gouldsboro > Prospect Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Prospect Harbor
Price Range: $139 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings! I, Ben, and my wife, Sonja, would like to welcome you to Acadia's Oceanside Meadows Inn. We encourage you to discover the serenity and hospitality of Schoodic Peninsula, located in the heart of beautiful Downeast Maine. The buildings of our Inn stand on 200 acres at the head of Sand Cove in picturesque Prospect Harbor.At Oceanside Meadows we have two very specific goals: to ensure that you have an extraordinary experience staying at our historic inn and to introduce you to our ever-evolving 200 acre nature preserve. Explore our sandy beach, rocky shore, dunes, meadows, forest, ponds, streams, and pristine salt marsh environments, which offer a great diversity of habitats and wildlife. My wife and I, who have a background in science and conservation, are committed to the preservation of this extraordinary place. Oceanside Meadows marries all that you would expect from a historic inn that has been open since 1860 with an unparalleled opportunity to explore and to understand Maine's environment and natural splendor.We invite you to join us here for a relaxing respite on the ocean. Be lulled to sleep by the sound of the surf on our private sandy beach. Individually appointed bedrooms are lavishly furnished with your comfort in mind. Our rooms feature ocean and meadow views, private baths, flowers from the garden, and the refreshing sea breeze. Enjoy hearty gourmet breakfasts in our gracious dining room as you watch the lobster boats ply the Atlantic just yards away. Feast on wild blueberry pancakes, specialty omelets, homemade breads and other delights. We are glad to cater to vegetarian and other dietary needs. Our unique sandy beach is a great place to have a picnic, to lie in the sun or to take a dip in the brisk Atlantic. Explore the rugged coastline, tidal pools, and lighthouses; spot an eagle or osprey overhead; try sea kayaking, yachting, fresh water canoeing. Head out on a real Maine Lobster boat, see the seals basking in the sun, whales breaching, the puffins at Petit Manan Light, on your way back in to the dock pull lobster traps, truly immersing in the real wonders of the Downeast Maine coast. Try the trails of Acadia National Park at Schoodic 5 mins away or our own just behind the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing