We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and whimsical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We loved this Inn. It is a rare find like something from a story book. The location is superb, the beach is beautiful, our room was great. The breakfast was exceptional. I gave this an excellent rating even though we would have wished for better bedding (the pillows were terrible) and no gaps under the door, haphazard service at breakfast-- but it still had so much charm and so much going for it that we wanted to stay longer.

Room Tip: Choose room one if possible! It's the only one with a king sized bed, views, and lots of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peace R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 257 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

From the moment we drove up and met Ben, the owner, we were hooked. He and his staff made us feel completely welcome and we learned enough about the Schoodic Peninsula and Acadia in the half hour we spent with him to make the while trip fun. The location is unbeatable if you like the peace and quiet of nature's beauty and is convenient to everything you'd want to do. The breakfasts were delicious and, again, the staff was fantastic. Be sure to take the time to hike to the salt marsh. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcwva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a very warm and inviting Inn. We had a fantastic time!! The staff was very friendly, helpful and did a great job to make us feel welcome! The breakfast was very creative and delicious. Ben, the owner, is very knowledgeable about the area and was constantly making sure we were enjoying our stay. He recommended great restaurants and places to visit. He is also very focused on sustaining the beauty of the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaMariaT786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The staff and innkeeper are the outstanding assets of this B&B (along with the breakfasts) on this truly quiet side of Acadia National Park. Ben and his staff were very helpful with their suggestions for things to do and where to dine, but there are few choices for the latter if you don't want to do a lot of driving once you get there. The weather was spectacular when we stayed; had it not been, we probably would have not been so pleased with our stay as we were there to bike in Acadia National Park, both on the island and the peninsula. We would stay at the B&B again, but for only one or two nights because of the scarcity of good dining in the area and the long drive to Mt. Desert Island.

Room Tip: "Ocean view" rooms are near the road and traffic from the fishing communities nearby start...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudithP5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Immediately upon arrival, we were greeted by friendly staff just ready to share information on the Inn and its many amenities. Then we met Ben, the innkeeper and had numerous conversations on the sights to see in the local towns and parks. He advised us on eateries, places of interest to visit and gave us guides on walking the 200 acres as well as maps for driving to the FDR summer home in Campobello, New Brunswick. The accommodations were comfortable and the breakfasts were better than what a 5 star hotel could offer. Ben and his staff are there to make your taste buds enjoy only the best and freshest ingredients available to them locally.He is dedicated to teaching his guests the advantages to becoming aware of the environment and what we "put into our bodies". Special dietary restrictions are a mere challenge for them. Ben is constantly working to bring the local residents together with his guests and is bringing cultural events to his property.The local businesses support each other and Ben encourages the guests to visit them. The beach, the wetlands, the gardens and everything on the property is maintained and well cared for.
The only improvement that we felt could be made, was to update some of the smaller items in the rooms. Our lampshade was ripped and cushions on the rockers in the "gathering room" could be replaced, as the stuffing was coming out.. You can keep the flavor of the "times" but update the comforts. The warmth of the fireplace only exaggerated the warmth of the Inn and its staff.
Would recommend it to anyone wanting to see the best of Maine. Close to Acadia National Park and all of its beauty.

Room Tip: It was difficult carrying luggage up to the third floor. We recommend staying on second floor, facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoobydo1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We just returned from the Inn and it was wonderful. Very clean and the breakfast was amazing! Ben and Margaret and the entire staff are all helpful, friendly and do a great job. They are very knowledgeable about the area and can always give you ideas about what to do and where to eat. The grounds and the flowers are beautiful and it is right across the street from a fabulous beach with a terrific view.
We really enjoyed our time there. Thanks to all at the Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Professional, outstanding personnel and staff providing first class service to all guests from reservation to checkout. All service requests i.e. extra hygiene items and any other requests were imminently taken care of. This Bed & Breakfast has a large friendship room with 24/7 access to a complete kitchen with hot drinks and a guest refrigerator for storage of cold drinks and food. Our room, (S-2) was very large, comfortably decorated with a large bathroom providing a walk-in shower. The room was located directly across the street from the ocean providing a beautiful beach side view from our bedroom window. Set down Breakfast was served by friendly staff with a verity of awesome great tasting foods while staff provided guests with things to do and places to visit during there stay. (These people have the greatest French toast I’ve ever eaten!) The Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn is located on a beautiful peninsula with sparsely built beautiful mansions and finely manicured lawns. Our stay here truly contributed to one of the greatest vacations my friend and I have ever enjoyed. Pet friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn

Address: 202 Corea Rd, Prospect Harbor, Gouldsboro, ME 04669-5015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Gouldsboro > Prospect Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Prospect Harbor
Price Range: $139 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings! I, Ben, and my wife, Sonja, would like to welcome you to Acadia's Oceanside Meadows Inn. We encourage you to discover the serenity and hospitality of Schoodic Peninsula, located in the heart of beautiful Downeast Maine. The buildings of our Inn stand on 200 acres at the head of Sand Cove in picturesque Prospect Harbor.At Oceanside Meadows we have two very specific goals: to ensure that you have an extraordinary experience staying at our historic inn and to introduce you to our ever-evolving 200 acre nature preserve. Explore our sandy beach, rocky shore, dunes, meadows, forest, ponds, streams, and pristine salt marsh environments, which offer a great diversity of habitats and wildlife. My wife and I, who have a background in science and conservation, are committed to the preservation of this extraordinary place. Oceanside Meadows marries all that you would expect from a historic inn that has been open since 1860 with an unparalleled opportunity to explore and to understand Maine's environment and natural splendor.We invite you to join us here for a relaxing respite on the ocean. Be lulled to sleep by the sound of the surf on our private sandy beach. Individually appointed bedrooms are lavishly furnished with your comfort in mind. Our rooms feature ocean and meadow views, private baths, flowers from the garden, and the refreshing sea breeze. Enjoy hearty gourmet breakfasts in our gracious dining room as you watch the lobster boats ply the Atlantic just yards away. Feast on wild blueberry pancakes, specialty omelets, homemade breads and other delights. We are glad to cater to vegetarian and other dietary needs. Our unique sandy beach is a great place to have a picnic, to lie in the sun or to take a dip in the brisk Atlantic. Explore the rugged coastline, tidal pools, and lighthouses; spot an eagle or osprey overhead; try sea kayaking, yachting, fresh water canoeing. Head out on a real Maine Lobster boat, see the seals basking in the sun, whales breaching, the puffins at Petit Manan Light, on your way back in to the dock pull lobster traps, truly immersing in the real wonders of the Downeast Maine coast. Try the trails of Acadia National Park at Schoodic 5 mins away or our own just behind the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Acadia Oceanside Meadows Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing