We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than I thought it would be...”
Review of Irish Setter Pub

Irish Setter Pub
Ranked #2 of 42 Restaurants in Presque Isle
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
143 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Much better than I thought it would be...”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

After reading the reviews here, I decided to go to another restaurant but they ended up being closed. I passed the Irish Pub, now known as the Irish Setter Pub (?) and the parking lot was full. My view is if the parking lot is full, it must not be bad or it is cheap. Either way you can't really go wrong.

The pub is clean and well lit. The bar top is a silly corian material which makes it less attractive but easy to keep clean I guess. I sat at the bar and was waited on promptly. I ordered a beer and the Celtic chicken. The chicken was juicy and a little spicy (pepperish) and came with red bliss mashed and a sweet Italian suasage both covered with gravy, green beens and a corn muffin. The potatoes were a little plain but offset the spiciness of the chicken nicely. Overall the meak was excellent. The cost for the meal and the beer was only $16.58

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rayjay12002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    54
    13
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Irish Pub?”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Had the "Fish & Chips" which was apparently a few greasy Gorton's frozen fish sticks and a handful of frozen fries. Ordered Guinness - got a pour that would make ol' Arthur spin in his grave. When I took it back up to the bar, the bartender blamed it on the beer (lol). Another person in my party ordered the special; boiled dinner. It was a good looking plate of boiled vegetables with about 4 oz. of corned beef. The service was incredibly slow, and borderline rude. Based on the overall rating here I either had an isolated experience or the "dining out bar" is set very low in Presque Isle. Save yourself some frustration and time and grab a table at Theresa's downtown or visit the frozen section of your neighborhood grocer and stay in.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Dirk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Pub Fare”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Typical pub fare, had a good atmosphere and the food was what you would expect at a pub.
The fries were very good, we were 5 at our table and most enjoyed their meal.
Our waitress provided excellent service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c0verdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

After a long day of traveling, it was nice to sit outside in their courtyard and enjoy the cool Maine summer weather. Simple, but good tasting food and good service.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nothing surprising here”
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Good atmosphere. Good food. Pretty basic. Go here for the pub atmosphere, a cold beer, and pub fare. Menu was a bit limited.

Helpful?
Thank Roadtrip091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish Setter Pub also viewed

 

Been to Irish Setter Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing