We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biggest lobstah rolll ever”

Governor's Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 43 Restaurants in Presque Isle
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Presque Isle, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Biggest lobstah rolll ever”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Wow! My daughter was visiting from NYC and I took her to Governors restaurant in Presque Isle, Maine for some real 'Maine " food. She ordered a 'double the lobster' roll and it was so amazing she sent pics back to friends in NYC!! Not only was it huge and over flowing with lobster meat, it was delicious! As the Mainer's say, it was sweet...meaning tender. That term "sweet" in referring to lobster is not to be confused with sugary, it means that the lobster meat was very tender.
The Gov's as it is called locally, is a terrific place to enjoy Maine cooking at very reasonable prices. A trip to Maine is not complete without a visit to one of the several locations around the state. This is a Maine experience. If you are looking for the "real" Maine, a visit to the Governors is a must.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Restaurantmaven207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    39
    12
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice lobster roll, great "knife & fork" turkey sandwich”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have had my share of lobster rolls and these folks have a pretty nice one, bread is freshly baked and they don't put much mayo on it, add a aqueeze of lemon and you're good to go. My husband had a hot turkey sandwich (which he judges restaurants by) and he was really pleased, everything seems prepared by them ie. "real" sliced turkey with good stuffing and gravy. I sampled it and I had to agree. Great place to stop particularly if you are looking for a wide variety of good food and they have a really good bakery counter. Prices/services very reasonable. Would go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa01_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aroostook County Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good family restaurant”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We go to Governor's fairly often and we almost always are happy with the food and service. The prices we feel are reasonable. It is a family restaurant with children present so if you are looking for a quieter atmosphere especially on the weekends it might be better to try somewhere else. If you can deal with a happy little buzz though that's usually what you hear. We are acquainted with the owners and they are friendly and approachable. Can't figure out one reviewer's view as it certainly has never been our experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crazymae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

The purple are rude and treat their employees like crap and it's really awkward. They're even more rude to their customers

Helpful?
Thank Joshua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good Home Cooking”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have been going here for years, and am always impressed by the quality of the food and the reasonable price. Lots of specials, and a very unique Maine-based decor. It's not gourmet food, but it's good hearty food with big portions and a reasonable price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jayemwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Governor's Restaurant also viewed

 
Presque Isle, ME
Presque Isle, ME
 

Been to Governor's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing