We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Meal” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Governor's Restaurant

Governor's Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 42 Restaurants in Presque Isle
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
175 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Disappointing Meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our family went for Sunday breakfast recently. As there were 8 of us, we ended up in a back room which did impact the service. Some of us ordered the buffet and some off the meu - another issue for the service. As a result, we all ate a different times. On a busy Sunday, I guess that is not too unusal.

The food, particularly on the buffet was not great. Greasy and overcooked. The items ordered off the menu were much better, but it took forever to get them.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eeepee98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    34
    12
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

My family and I were in Presque Isle on vacation last week and stopped by the Governor's two mornings in a row for breakfast. We all had different dishes and were pleased with each of them. I ordered 3 pancakes one morning and couldn't finish them; I should've ordered 2 because I didn't think they'd be that large, but I just took the leftovers to go and had it for dinner. The ham and cheese omelet was ridiculous. The standard French toast - sublime. I wished I had appetite enough to try a slice of one of the mile-high cakes in the rotating display case in the front of the restaurant. The servers were very friendly and hospitable. My family and I ate like P-I-G hogs the entire week we were in Presque Isle the food was so good and simple.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TischandGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Homestyle; good food for breakfast & dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

A very nice place for tasty food and nice service.

We've eaten there numerous times and not been disappointed.

Try the potatoe pancakes (side dish)... they're great!

Absolute best cinammon-raisin breat you've ever tasted -- fabulous as French Toast!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not Bad!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

You can get some good food at the Gov's and their specials are pretty decently priced. I used to LOVE Gov's, it was one of my favorite places to eat out. Over the years the prices have gone up but the portions remain the same. If you haven't been to the Gov's, it's definitely worth a try!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank LynzzT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophieschoice61
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Diner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Not impressed pricy for type of food you get! Breakfast is good

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sophieschoice61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Governor's Restaurant also viewed

 
Presque Isle, ME
 

Been to Governor's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing