We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Downtown" hotel is fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Northeastland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Presque Isle
maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"Downtown" hotel is fine”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Bucking the trend of malls and sprawl, is the somewhat newly renovated Northeastland Hotel on the main street in Presque Isle, Maine. The rooms are pleasant, there is on onsite bar and a separate restaurant. There is some noise from the bar that travels to rooms above and noise from exhaust fans on the backside of the hotel

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack06Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    29
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
19
14
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

On a motorcycle loop of Maine, we decided on Presque Isle as a jumping off spot to go further north to Fort Kent and america's First Mile. One of the beauties of Maine is that is is sparsely populated and many of the towns don't have much to offer. With the Hampton nearby charging ridiculous rates for where it is, we decided on Northeastland. Pulling up on a Sunday, I wondered who scared all the people away! and noticed the old style middle of town hotel architecture. Parking in the back lot, we walked in with trepidation but I was pleasantly surprised to see a clean and well maintained lobby- almost homey. The young lady behind the desk was most helpful, but as a young local, she yearned for more action than PI offers it seemed!! She promptly gave us our key and explained the restaurant (closes early on Sunday!) and bar hours.
The hallway was well maintained and the room was as well. No king but the room was more than adequate for our needs. I'd say it fell between a Holiday Inn Express and Comfort Inn.
We freshened up and decided to ride some more to Fort Fairfield and into New Brunswick, Canada.
We came back late and went to the bar to get a beverage before heading to the restaurant. Fortunately we overheard the bartender tell another patron (the place was empty) the kitchen closed in 15 minutes! We ended up having dinner at the bar, which was passable.
There are not many options in walking distance (if you don't want to get back on the bike) so the Hotel's bar and restaurant are a welcomed addition to those not wishing to drive anymore!
If I had to be up there again, I would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: There don't to be any scenic rooms, nor was noise an issue, so anything seems fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpm119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaston, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We visit northern Maine the end of June almost every year and, as a family (usually 3 rooms), we always stay at the Northeastland Hotel. It is located in the heart of Presque Isle, the rooms are large, the staff is efficient and pleasant, and the restaurant is so handy for breakfast. This is the first year I have ever had a complaint. This year the room was not as clean as usual. I cleaned the furniture surfaces after seeing something 'gooey' on the dresser top. The cloth was surprisingly filthy! I also found some dirt on the carpet. The second day we stayed the room was clean - must have been a different maid.

We will still stay here again - I think that it just must have been a bad day for the first maid we had.

One more thing - There were three electrical outlets (all on the outside wall) and none of them would hold our computer or phone chargers. One of them was next to the desk in the room. The chargers would just fall right out of the socket. I was charging the computer in the bathroom and the phones in an outlet by the door (in the way of opening the door).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We spent the night at the Northeastland in June for our anniversary. The room was clean and nice and had everything that you need. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had an issue with the toilet and the manager came up and took care of it right away. The room service at breakfast was SO GOOD and the price was around the same as we would have paid at McDonalds. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 73MelissaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presque Isle, Maine
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Northeastland Hotel recently hosted our wedding ceremony and reception. The venue provided a beautiful and intimate setting for 70 of our friends and family. The service and hospitality was outstanding and the sit down dinner was delicious and very well organized. The staff was professional and took excellent care of us and our guests. Our banquet manager was very pleasant to work with and made sure our every need was meet. The cost was very fair. Some of our guest stayed in the hotel and was very happy with their accomodations. Overall we were very pleased and would recommend The Northeastland Hotel for dining, hotel rooms and event hosting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel with a high school ski team over February break. Hotel is right in the middle of town and has a lot of history. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were on the third floor and the rooms were very large and the bathroom was a good size. The only complaint about the room is the TV's are pretty small for the size of the room.

They catered the team breakfast each morning. It was pretty standard breakfast fare. Nothing remarkable but it got the job done. The food was on-time, got the kids fed and out the door.

At a room rate of $85 a night it is a good value and and good place to stay.

Room Tip: It snowed a couple of nights so a bucket loader was moving the snow out of the parking area. So mayb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Salsgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presque Isle, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Air conditioning and TV remotes never seem to work. Fine during the winter but not in summer when it is warm. Staff is great at check in. Bar service could be improved. Less cell phone use and more attention to customers. I have found myself leaving the hotel to go somewhere else for dinner because of this. Have been staying here at least twice a month for the past 8 months, and now considering switching to Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Stay away from floor one if not a smoker. Pay the extra money to stay on non-smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Presque Isle
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Presque Isle
Hampton Inn Presque Isle
#1 of 5 in Presque Isle
512 reviews
0.9 mi away
Presque Isle Inn & Convention Center
5.9 mi away
Aroostook Hospitality Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Caribou Inn & Convention Center
13.4 mi away
Crown Park Inn
Crown Park Inn
#2 of 2 in Caribou
20 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 4 in Perth-Andover
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northeastland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northeastland Hotel

Property: The Northeastland Hotel
Address: 436 Main St, Presque Isle, ME 04769-2601
Location: United States > Maine > Presque Isle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Presque Isle
Hotel Class:3 star — The Northeastland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your The Northeastland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northeastland Hotel Presque Isle
The Northeastland Hotel Presque Isle, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing