We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vegetarian Food When All Else Failed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Green Elephant

The Green Elephant
Ranked #5 of 607 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Asian-inspired cuisine made with love.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian Food When All Else Failed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

It was hard to find a good vegetarian restaurant in many other parts of Maine so we were thrilled when we found this place. The staff is very friendly, efficient, and accommodating. We don't eat soy and seitan so it was nice to see many other options. We had the Fresh Rolls for a starter and the Steamed Assorted Vegetables w/ Peanut Sauce. Both were well made and delicious. I'm going to keep it simple here, this will be our go to place when in Portland Maine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    101
    21
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of our Portland favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I am honestly a little embarrassed to only be writing a review of this restaurant now. We have been coming to The Green Elephant for years and every time, and I mean literally every time, we have had an incredible dining experience. The food at this Portland establishment is some of the freshest and thoughtfully prepared in the city, which any Maine resident can tell you is quite a commendation. Although a vegetarian restaurant, its variety of asian inspired dishes appeal to vegans and self-expressed carnivores alike with hearty offerings like tofu tikka masala as well as lighter entrees like a green tea noodle bowl perfectly spiced and portioned. Every meal seems to be made of the freshest ingredients and of the highest quality, from the jasmine brown rice (delicious) to the vegetable dumplings. Yet what is truly excellent about this establishment is the service. The Green Elephant is a well oiled, yet incredibly friendly, machine. The waitstaff is knowledgable and accommodating, a team of fun twenty-somethings who seem passionate about providing excellent service. The food is always served promptly and piping hot, yet one never experiences that unpleasant sensation of being rushed and when one asks for a substitution ( I am particularly fond of soy meat) they are more than helpful.
All in all I can firmly say that to this day I can find no flaw with the Green Elephant. My only complaint might be that it is in fact so good that I find myself slightly hesitant to branch out, worried that any other meal at another restaurant of a similar price range would most likely pale in comparison. Bravo Green Elephant!

Recommended menu items:
Asian vegetable stir fry with Brown rice (sub soy meat for tofu, you won't regret it!)
Tofu tikka Masala
Char Guay Teow (Malaysian noodle dish)
Pineapple fried rice
Green tea Noodle
and of course their famous brussels sprouts

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, healthy food, fairly priced.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I was taken there for a birthday dinner while on vacation, and liked the place so much that we went back again the next day… :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cafmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderfully yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Friends mentioned going here and having excellent meals, no matter what menu selection they chose. The night we went, a weekday evening, the restaurant soon filled with a wait time of 35 minutes. Once we checked out the menu, both of us were in a quandary as to meal choices because so much of the menu sounded worth a try. We opted to start with the Crispy Wonton and King Oyster Mushroom Tempura, with the Crispy Wonton being our favorite of the two, particularly due to the tasty chili sauce that came with the wonton. Pairing the chili sauce with the King Oyster Mushroom dish would have pepped that up a bit. Siamese Dream Curry Noodle and Panang Curry Vegetable & Tempeh, both colorful presentations with perfectly cooked veggies, were our main dish choices. Both were very good. Overall a very good experience with efficient and knowledgeable wait staff.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank renaissance2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
69 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Service!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

I went to The Green Elephant last night (a Wednesday) with my adult granddaughter. I wish I could remember the server's name, because he was wonderful: knowledgeable, pleasant and helpful. The restaurant is cute, the menu is extensive, and the food is remarkable. Neither if us is vegetarian, but we asked for the server's recommendations and took them. Brussell sprouts appetizer (delicious!), pad thai (best ever!) and a vegetable dish with red curry. For dessert we had mango with sticky rice. Everything was superb. I can't say enough about this place. I'm going back next week.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Elephant also viewed

 

Been to The Green Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing