We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic vegetarian place in a foodie city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green Elephant

The Green Elephant
Ranked #5 of 601 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Asian-inspired cuisine made with love.
Stratham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
160 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Fantastic vegetarian place in a foodie city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Portland, ME is now very clearly on the map. Even The New York Times says it's a foodie destination. Absolutely delicious vegetarian restaurant with vegan and gluten free options, as well. This is Asian fusion at its most tasty, with influences of Thai, Singaporean and Indian cuisine. We started with the Brussels Sprouts appetizers and nearly ordered a second batch. They were SO good. Even people with food allergies can probably find something here. Great service and really helpful, knowledgeable servers. Love this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blondventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    99
    21
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raymond, Maine
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding Vegetarian Food at Great Prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Green Elephant is a wonderful vegetarian restaurant with many vegan options. Great Pad Thai, spring rolls and many other Asian/fusion options. And the prices are very reasonable!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vegan must go in Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We ate here twice on our trip to Maine - we always plan around stopping in Portland to do so. Their many Thai recipes are very vegan friendly, and I've never had "Far East Duck", a traditional Buddhist seitan dish, better anywhere else! Their wine selection is good and the atmosphere is lovely - nice interior and very couples-oriented. It's in the next block from the Portland Art Museum, so makes a great evening finish.
The neighborhood is not the best and parking can be dicey, but well worth it. Try the Thai soups.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average restaurant with above average prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

After reading rave reviews, came here on my way from nyc to Acadia. Fisherman's grill was closed at 6pm so came here which is located downtown and next to a bar/lounge and filled with lots of young people in the 20s. Being a foodie, I find the food very average compared to food in nyc. It's vegetarian and southeast Asian style food like curry and noodles. The noodle in the ginger Thai noodle was a bit tough. Peanut curry was tasty but nothing special. Average dish prices are $12-15, and for 4 people with tip and tax will run about $70. So I think it's a bit pricey for what you get but maybe the area is expensive. As a comparison, In nyc you can get similar food for $8 to $12 at many places.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Po H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pea-nuts about the curry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Recommended by a local and glad I found the time to visit. Had the peanut curry (apologies for the pun) and it was devine. Great service, good food and a nice location. Enjoy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eilidh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Elephant also viewed

 

Been to The Green Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing