We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan, vegetarian close to the Portland Museum of Art”
Review of The Green Elephant

The Green Elephant
Ranked #5 of 620 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Asian-inspired cuisine made with love.
Eastford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Vegan, vegetarian close to the Portland Museum of Art”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very friendly wait staff. A good wine list. Did you even know there is such a thing as vegan wine? Now that was an interesting conversation! Both the wine and the beer were good. Lots of tofu and vegetables. While the food was good, we found the four plates we had to be very greasy. First course of brussel sprouts were so greasy we didn't eat them. My spring rolls were the same. You get a lot of food with each course.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emberbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    109
    22
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Can't say enough good things!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My family and I absolutely love The Green Elephant! Service is always top notch and the food never disappoints. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank newenglandtravel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“GREAT LUNCH!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Husband and two adult daughters enjoyed lunch at this great little vegan restaurant.
We were all more than delighted with food,drink{Thai beer} waitress Lyda{who incidently turned off air conditionning for me}The price was reasonable ..liked the Thai bent .
We were off to the Portland Museum of Art and the restaurant is very close.
No complaints..just plaudits.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RubyMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Top Flight Vegetarian”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had a wonderful meal. Had to wait for a table because this place does not take reservations. Tried to go for late lunch but closes at 2:00 (even though door sign said 2:30).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank japple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamoine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh and simply delicious”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Fresh and delicious vegetarian fare with wonderfully authentic Asian flavors. Attentive & friendly service with an iviting atmosphere

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank davidandlaurie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Elephant also viewed

 

Been to The Green Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing